Study in Italy Without IELTS (2027/28): University by University
Which public universities accept an MOI letter, Duolingo, TOEFL, PTE or an interview, and what each Italian consulate in India asks.
No commitment
Less than 2 minutes
Limited intake, 1:1 support
international students trusted us
universities only, where study can be tuition-free for eligible students
English-taught programmes
Italian regions covered
Written by İrem Yılmaz, Student Experience Lead. Reviewed by Reeya Sharma, Student Success and Partnerships. Published 28 September 2026. Updated 28 September 2026.
In short
- Short answer: yes, you can study in Italy without IELTS, but not without proof of English. Each university sets its own English level and decides which proof counts. Most programmes ask for B2, the level the consulate checks for the visa (MUR circular 2026/27 and 2027/28, Part II, p. 18).
- Alternatives: of the 22 public universities we checked, 16 accept a medium-of-instruction (MOI) letter for at least some programmes and 9 offer an interview or their own test. Padua, Sapienza and Perugia do not accept an MOI letter from a degree from India.
- Duolingo: only 2 of the 22 accept it from students from countries like India: the University of Padua (score 115) and one Federico II bachelor's. One list is still pending. TOEFL, PTE and Cambridge are accepted far more widely.
- Visa stage: the 2026/27 and 2027/28 checklists of the Kolkata and Bengaluru consulates accept a B2 certificate or an MOI declaration. For eligible students, we check both the university's rule and the consulate's rule.
- ApplyAZ, an independent study-in-Italy consultancy with offices in Milan and India, works only with Italian public universities and takes no commission from them. For eligible students, we handle the applications, Universitaly pre-enrolment, the DSU scholarship application and the visa file.
Check your eligibility first. If you are eligible, you book a one-to-one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Study in Italy without IELTS: key facts for 2027/28
These are the rules behind studying in Italy without IELTS at a public university. Each row comes from a ministry, university or consulate document for 2026/27 or 2027/28, listed under Sources.
| Topic | What applies |
|---|---|
| The B2 rule | Most programmes ask for English at B2, the level the consulate checks for the visa (MUR circular 2026/27 and 2027/28, Part II, p. 18). Universities set their own English level, and a few programmes accept B1. |
| Is IELTS the only proof? | No. None of the 22 universities in our check makes IELTS the only accepted proof. |
| Medium-of-instruction (MOI) letter | Accepted for at least some programmes at 16 of 22. Not accepted from a degree from India at Padua, Sapienza and Perugia. |
| Duolingo | Accepted from students from countries like India at 2 of 22: Padua (115) and one Federico II bachelor's. Politecnica delle Marche's list is pending. |
| Interview or university test | Offered at 9 of 22, including the University of Milan's SLAM test and Siena's online interview. |
| TOEFL scale change | Padua and Politecnico di Milano ask 4.5 on the new TOEFL scale for tests from 21 January 2026. Trento asks 4 or more in each skill. |
| Visa stage | Kolkata and Bengaluru (2026/27 and 2027/28 checklists): a B2 certificate or an MOI declaration. New Delhi (June 2025 checklist): B2 certification, preferably IELTS or TOEFL. |
| 2027/28 visa deadline | Applications by 31 October 2027 (Universitaly). |
| Coverage of this check | The 22 universities run 381 of the 500 English-taught programmes in our catalogue, which covers 53 public universities. |
Can I study in Italy without IELTS?
Yes, if you prove your English another way and your university accepts that way. Most programmes ask for B2, the level the consulate checks for the visa under the MUR circular for 2026/27 and 2027/28 (Part II, page 18). None of the 22 public universities we checked makes IELTS the only accepted proof.
What changes from one university to the next is the list. Some take a medium-of-instruction letter, some take Duolingo, some test you themselves, and some want a certificate from their own list and nothing else.
Rules also change inside one university. At the University of Turin, Area and Global Studies accepts an MOI letter, while Business Administration asks for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 87, a Cambridge certificate or a GMAT or GRE score. That is why we read the call of each programme on your list, not only the university's general page.
Which universities accept an MOI letter or another test instead of IELTS?
Most do, but not the same ones: we checked 22 public universities against their own 2026/27 or 2027/28 rules. Of these, 16 accept an MOI letter for at least some programmes, 9 run an interview or their own test, and 2 accept Duolingo from students from countries like India, as the table below shows.
The number after each university is its count of English-taught programmes in our catalogue. Scores are the B2 minimums printed by each university; IELTS is shown for comparison.
| University (English-taught programmes) | Rules we read (year) | MOI letter | Duolingo | TOEFL iBT, PTE, Cambridge | Interview or own test | IELTS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Padua (58) | 2027/28 selection, opening 15 September 2026; certificate list of September 2026. | No. The exemptions cover degrees taken in English-speaking countries or the EU and Schengen area, IB, EB, GCE and a US high school diploma with APs; India is not listed. | Yes, 115 | TOEFL 86 (tests to 20 January 2026) or 4.5 (from 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 65; B2 First 173. | No. A certificate can be sent after applying, by 31 July 2027. | 6.0 |
| Sapienza University of Rome (34) | 2026/27 pre-selection requirements and Sapienza language rules 2026. | No for a degree from India. The waiver covers English-taught degrees from the EU, EEA and Schengen area and five English-speaking countries. | Not listed | TOEFL 80 in most programmes; PTE Academic in some; B2 First. | Only BA Global Humanities, for applicants from severely disadvantaged backgrounds. | 5.5 |
| University of Bologna (27) | 2026/27 call (Digital Humanities and Digital Knowledge) and its English requirement page. | Yes: a bachelor's or master's degree with English as medium of instruction. | Not listed | TOEFL 72; PTE Academic from 50 (GSE); FCE; certificates from 1 January 2023. | No | 5.5 |
| University of Trento (24) | 2026/27 admission pages for non-EU applicants and the Language Centre certificate list. | Yes: a written statement from your university that English is the official teaching language of your degree. | Not listed | TOEFL: 18 or more in each skill (tests to 20 January 2026) or 4 or more in each skill (from 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 59 in each skill; B2 First. | No | 5.5, with 5.5 in each skill. |
| University of Naples Federico II (23) | Programme pages for 2026/27: MSc Mechanical Engineering for Energy and Environment and bachelor's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology. | Depends. Yes for the mechanical engineering master's; no longer accepted for the electrical engineering bachelor's. | Yes for that bachelor's, with a verification code. | TOEFL, PTE Academic and Cambridge accepted at B2; no score printed. | The bachelor's has the level checked by the University Language Centre before enrolment. | B2, no band printed |
| University of Turin (22) | 2026/27 application pages: Area and Global Studies for International Cooperation and Business Administration. | Depends. Yes for Area and Global Studies; not listed for Business Administration. | Not listed | Area and Global Studies: TOEFL 69 (no part under 17), PTE Academic 65, FCE 173. Business Administration: TOEFL 87. | Business Administration also accepts a GMAT or GRE score. | 5.5 or 6.5 by programme. |
| University of Milan (19) | 2026/27 English rules for master's and certificate list (June 2025). | Not listed | Not listed | TOEFL 72; PTE Academic 59; FCE. | Yes: the SLAM entry test for each master's. | 5.5 (B1 or B2 by course). |
| University of Pisa (18) | Set by each programme: 2026/27 Geophysics call and the Computer Science English page. | Not stated in the rules we read. | Not listed | Computer Science: a B2 certificate from the Language Centre list. | Exploration and Applied Geophysics checks English in an online video interview. | B2, no band printed |
| University of Pavia (18) | 2026/27 selection criteria for International Business and Entrepreneurship and the admissions FAQ. | Usually, not always, per the FAQ. A bachelor's taught entirely in English earns extra points in International Business and Entrepreneurship. | Not listed | International Business and Entrepreneurship: 5 ECTS of English in your degree, or a certificate at First Certificate level. | No | B2, no band printed |
| University of Siena (15) | 2026/27 admissions portal and the certificate table of November 2025. | Yes: a letter from your institution that the programme was taught entirely in English. The committee decides and may interview you. | Not listed | TOEFL 72; PTE not listed; B2 First; certificate no older than 4 years at enrolment. | Yes: a paid online English interview, valid only at Siena. | 5.5 |
| Politecnico di Milano (15) | Master's certificates updated for 2027/28. | Yes: at least 3 years of a bachelor's taught in English, with a university document that at least 75% of courses were in English. | Not listed | TOEFL 78 (tests to 20 January 2026) or 4.5 (from 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 59; B2 First at grade B. | No. Proof is not needed to apply, but it is needed for the admission letter and the visa. | 6.0 |
| University of Palermo (14) | Language rules page (undated, in force on 28 September 2026) and a 2026/27 programme manual. | Yes: a degree taught entirely in English exempts you. Tourism Systems and Hospitality Management asks for TOEFL or IELTS only. | Not listed | TOEFL 72; PTE General or Academic 46; Cambridge qualifications. | No | 5.5 |
| University of Rome Tor Vergata (13) | 2026/27 call, European Economy and Business Law and the Business Administration English page. | Depends. Business Administration waives the certificate for a degree taught in English. | Not listed | European Economy and Business Law: TOEFL 87 or FCE. Business Administration: TOEFL 75 or FCE at grade A or B. | Yes: European Economy and Business Law checks English in its online interview if you have no certificate. | 6.5 |
| University of Parma (12) | 2026/27 guidelines, bachelor's in Global Studies for Sustainable Development. | Yes, ranked last: secondary education completed entirely in English, considered after certificate holders. | Not listed | TOEFL, Cambridge qualifications and Linguaskill listed; no scores printed. | No | Listed, no band printed |
| University of Genoa (11) | 2026/27 selection for master's taught in English and the accepted certificate list. | Yes: a certificate that English was the medium of instruction. | No: certificates from remote exams are not accepted. | TOEFL: 22 or more in each skill; PTE not listed; FCE; exams from January 2024. | No | 5.5 |
| University of Verona (10) | 2026/27 call for international master's. | Yes, in the programmes that print "previous degree taught in English" in the annex. | Only for applicants from Iran or Afghanistan. | B2 from the university's equivalence list; you must hold it when you apply. | No | B2, university list |
| University of Catania (9) | 2026/27 call for non-EU master's (applications 10 February to 17 March 2026). | Yes: a declaration from your university that English was the official language of the course. | Not listed | TOEFL 80 (Physics) or 72 (Chemical Engineering); FCE. | Selection on qualifications, with an interview if needed. | 5.5 |
| University of Perugia (8) | Language rules page (undated, in force on 28 September 2026). | No: an MOI certificate or letter is not accepted. | No: not accepted | TOEFL 72 to 94; PTE General Level 3; Cambridge IGCSE. | No | 5.5 to 6.5 |
| University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (8) | 2026/27 non-EU call, Digital Automation Engineering. | Yes: a bachelor's degree in English, or English exams at B2 declared by your university. | Not listed | A B2 certificate from the Language Centre list. | Yes: a remote B2 English test at the University Language Centre. | B2, Language Centre list |
| Politecnica delle Marche (8) | 2026/27 admission guidelines and the English requirement page. | Yes for six master's, including Biomedical, Environmental and Green Industrial Engineering. | Pending: the certificate list was not readable. | Pending | Yes: the CSAL English test if you have neither a certificate nor an MOI letter. | Pending |
| University of Florence (8) | Economics and Development enrolment page, updated 16 August 2026 (2026/27 intake). | Yes: evidence that your bachelor's was taught entirely in English. | Not listed | Cambridge First, TOEFL or IELTS at B2; no scores printed. | Applicants who miss a requirement may be asked to sit an interview or pass a B2 English test before clearance. | B2, no band printed |
| Ca' Foscari University of Venice (7) | Master's language page updated 23 September 2026; certificate list in force since 2024/25. | Not listed | Not listed | TOEFL, PTE Academic and Cambridge on the list; certificates within 5 years. | Some master's let you reach B2 after enrolment with the Language Centre test. | On the list |
Sources: each university's own call, list or language page, linked in the second column and read on 28 September 2026. "Not listed" means the rules we read do not name that proof, so we treat it as not accepted until the university says otherwise.
Together these 22 universities run 381 of the 500 English-taught programmes in our catalogue, which covers 53 public universities. For a programme at a university outside the table, we read its own call before you apply. The full list is in our guide to English-taught programmes in Italy.
Which Italian universities accept a medium-of-instruction letter?
Sixteen of the 22 universities we checked accept an MOI letter for at least some programmes, including Bologna, Trento, Politecnico di Milano, Genoa and Verona. The wording matters: Politecnico di Milano's 2027/28 rules want at least 75% of your bachelor's courses taught in English. Padua, Sapienza and Perugia do not accept one from an Indian degree.
Padua's 2027/28 exemptions cover degrees taken in English-speaking countries or in the EU and Schengen area, plus IB, EB, GCE and a US high school diploma with APs. Sapienza's waiver covers English-taught degrees from the EU, EEA and Schengen area and from five English-speaking countries; India is not one of them. Perugia states plainly that an MOI certificate or letter is not accepted.
Where a letter is accepted, each university wants it to say something slightly different:
| University or office | Level and year | What the letter must show |
|---|---|---|
| Politecnico di Milano | Master's, 2027/28 | Your bachelor's was taught in English for at least 3 years, and at least 75% of its courses were in English, certified by your university. |
| University of Siena | All levels, 2026/27 | The programme that gave you your entry qualification was taught entirely in English, in a formal certificate or letter from the institution. |
| University of Trento | Master's, 2026/27 | English is the official teaching language of your degree, in a written statement from your university. |
| University of Catania | Master's, 2026/27 | English was the official language of your bachelor's or master's course, declared by the university that awarded it. |
| University of Naples Federico II | MSc Mechanical Engineering for Energy and Environment, 2026/27. | The entire degree programme was taught fully in English, in an official statement. |
| University of Turin | Area and Global Studies for International Cooperation, 2026/27. | The medium of instruction was English, in an official document from your previous university. |
| University of Florence | Economics and Development master's, 2026/27. | Your bachelor's was taught entirely in English. |
| University of Parma | Bachelor's in Global Studies, 2026/27. | Your entire secondary education cycle was in English, in official documentation. |
| Consulates in Kolkata and Bengaluru | Visa, 2026/27 and 2027/28 | A medium-of-instruction declaration by your previous higher education institution. |
Your university issues the letter. We tell you exactly what it must state for each university on your list and for your consulate, and we check it before it is uploaded anywhere.
Which universities in Italy accept Duolingo?
Very few: of the 22 universities we checked, two accept it from students from countries like India. They are the University of Padua (115 on its 2027/28 list) and Federico II's bachelor's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology (2026/27, with a verification code). Verona's 2026/27 call accepts Duolingo only from applicants from Iran or Afghanistan.
Perugia states that Duolingo is not accepted, and Genoa does not accept certificates from remote exams. Most other lists, including Politecnico di Milano, Bologna, Milan, Siena and Trento, do not include it.
Politecnica delle Marche's certificate list could not be read on 28 September 2026, so its Duolingo rule is pending. At the visa stage, Duolingo is not one of the five certifying bodies named in the Kolkata and Bengaluru checklists.
If you hold only a Duolingo result, we plan the visa file around an MOI declaration or a second certificate.
Can an interview or a university test replace IELTS?
Sometimes. Nine of the 22 universities we checked offer an interview or their own English test for 2026/27 or 2027/28, such as the University of Milan's SLAM entry test and Siena's online interview. Siena says a pass counts only for its own programmes, and Federico II warns that English testing after enrolment can make the visa procedure fail.
These are the nine routes we found:
- University of Milan: the SLAM entry test for each master's, on the 2026/27 calendar.
- University of Siena: a paid online English interview for applicants at B2 without a certificate.
- University of Pisa: Exploration and Applied Geophysics checks English in an online video interview.
- University of Rome Tor Vergata: European Economy and Business Law checks English in its online interview.
- Politecnica delle Marche: the CSAL English test for six master's, if you have neither a certificate nor an MOI letter.
- University of Modena and Reggio Emilia: a remote B2 test at the University Language Centre.
- Ca' Foscari University of Venice: some master's let you reach B2 after enrolment with the Language Centre test.
- University of Florence: Economics and Development may set an interview or a B2 English test for applicants who miss a requirement.
- Sapienza University of Rome: an English interview only for BA Global Humanities applicants from severely disadvantaged backgrounds.
A university interview helps with admission, but the consulate still reads a document. We make sure you hold a certificate or an MOI declaration that your consulate accepts before you rely on an interview.
Not sure which of these routes fits your degree? Check your eligibility first. If you are eligible, we map every programme on your list to the proof it accepts.
What IELTS, TOEFL or PTE score do Italian universities ask for?
Most ask for B2, which usually means IELTS 5.5 to 6.5. In the 2026/27 and 2027/28 rules we read, TOEFL iBT minimums run from 69 (Turin, Area and Global Studies) to 87 (Turin Business Administration and a Tor Vergata master's). Padua and Politecnico di Milano ask 4.5 on the new TOEFL scale for tests from 21 January 2026.
PTE Academic minimums run from 46 at Palermo (PTE General or Academic) to 65 at Padua and at Turin's Area and Global Studies. Politecnico di Milano and the University of Milan ask for 59, and Trento 59 in each skill. Siena and Genoa do not list PTE Academic at all.
IELTS is the highest at Turin Business Administration and Tor Vergata (6.5), then Padua and Politecnico di Milano (6.0). Trento and Genoa add a rule per skill: 5.5 in each IELTS band at Trento, and 22 in each TOEFL skill at Genoa.
Are home-edition or online English tests accepted in Italy?
It depends on the university. Padua's September 2026 list, Politecnico di Milano's 2027/28 list and Sapienza's 2026 rules accept TOEFL Home Edition, and Padua and Sapienza also take the home-based IELTS. Genoa rejects certificates from remote exams, Trento accepts online tests only at the provider's premises, and Siena takes Home Edition only in exceptional cases.
Age matters as much as format. A certificate that was fine for one university can be too old for another:
| University | How old the certificate can be | Home or online tests |
|---|---|---|
| University of Padua | Valid for the body's own period, or taken within 2 years before 15 September 2026. | TOEFL Home Edition, the IELTS home-based test and remote or online PTE Academic, PEIC, Gatehouse and LanguageCert are on the September 2026 list; TOEFL MyBest accepted. |
| Politecnico di Milano | Not expired under the issuer's own rules. | TOEFL Home Edition accepted |
| Sapienza University of Rome | Not stated in the 2026 rules. | IELTS home-based test and TOEFL Home Edition accepted. |
| University of Bologna | Taken from 1 January 2023. | Not stated |
| University of Milan | Up to 3 years old when submitted. | Not stated |
| University of Turin | Up to 3 years old (Area and Global Studies). | Not stated |
| University of Siena | Taken no more than 4 years before enrolment. | Home Edition only in exceptional cases. |
| Ca' Foscari University of Venice | Submitted within 5 years of the test. | Not stated |
| University of Genoa | Exams taken from January 2024. | Remote exams not accepted |
| University of Trento | Recognised for 5 years by the Language Centre. | Online tests only at the provider's premises, not at home. |
| University of Palermo | No more than 2 years before applying (Tourism Systems and Hospitality Management). | Not stated |
| University of Verona | Held on the day you apply. | Not stated |
Sources: the university lists and calls linked in the main table above, read on 28 September 2026.
Do I need IELTS for the Italian student visa?
Not always. The 2026/27 and 2027/28 checklists of the Italian consulates in Kolkata and Bengaluru accept either a B2 certificate from five named bodies or an MOI declaration from your previous institution. The embassy in New Delhi's latest checklist, from June 2025, asks for B2 certification, preferably IELTS or TOEFL.
Which office handles your visa depends on the state you live in. This is what each one asks for English:
| Italian office | States and territories | English at the visa stage | Checklist edition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embassy of Italy, New Delhi | Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Chandigarh. | B2 English certification if the course is taught in English, "preferably IELTS, TOEFL". No MOI line. | VFS checklist dated June 2025; the 2026/27 edition is pending. |
| Consulate General, Mumbai | Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Lakshadweep. | The study checklist on the consulate site has no English line. Every study visa applicant attends a mandatory video interview. | 2024/25 checklist; the 2026/27 edition is pending. |
| Consulate General, Bengaluru | Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry. | Item 12: B2 English from British Institutes, Cambridge University Press & Assessment, ETS, Pearson or Trinity College London, or an MOI declaration by your previous institution. | 2026/27 and 2027/28 VFS checklist. |
| Consulate General, Kolkata | West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar, Jharkhand, Sikkim, Assam and the other north-eastern states, Andaman and Nicobar Islands. | Item 10: the same wording as Bengaluru, a B2 certificate from the five bodies or an MOI declaration. | 2026/27 and 2027/28 checklist (June 2026). |
Sources: the checklists linked in the last column and the jurisdiction pages of each office, read on 28 September 2026. Mumbai's study page states the video interview. Full visa steps are in our Italian student visa guide.
The university and the consulate check English separately. A letter that satisfies one may not satisfy the other, so we build one set of proof that works for both.
Can I do a masters in Italy without IELTS?
Yes, at many universities. Master's rules are where MOI letters are accepted most often: Politecnico di Milano, Bologna, Trento, Genoa, Verona and Catania all name one in their 2026/27 or 2027/28 rules. Your bachelor's must have been taught in English, and each university sets how that is shown.
For fees, eligibility and deadlines of two-year master's, see our guide to masters in Italy. For science and engineering, see MS in Italy.
Can I study a bachelor's in Italy without IELTS?
Yes, but the options are narrower after Class XII. Parma's 2026/27 bachelor's guidelines accept secondary education completed entirely in English, ranked after certificate holders. Federico II's bachelor's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology accepts Duolingo but no longer accepts MOI letters, and Sapienza offers an interview only in Global Humanities.
For programmes, entry tests and fees at bachelor's level, see our guide to bachelor's degrees in Italy and what you can apply to after Class XII.
How ApplyAZ checks your English proof with each university
For eligible students, we do this work before any application goes in. You never have to work out a university's language rules alone.
- We read the 2027/28 call of every programme on your shortlist and note which proofs it accepts, how old a certificate can be and whether it offers an interview.
- We match that to your consulate's checklist, so the proof that gets you admitted also works for the visa.
- If an MOI letter works, we tell you exactly what your university's letter must say and check it before upload.
- If you need a test, we tell you which one every university on your list accepts, so one result covers all of them.
- We then handle the applications, Universitaly pre-enrolment, the DSU scholarship application and the visa file.
We tell you exactly which documents to get, in which order, and check every page before the visa appointment.
Reality check
The university decides whether your English proof is enough, and its committee can still call you for an interview. The consulate decides the visa, and the region decides the DSU scholarship. We handle the checks and the paperwork; we cannot promise an outcome.
These are the usual pitfalls, and what each one costs:
- An MOI letter with the wrong wording. Politecnico di Milano needs at least 75% of courses in English; Parma needs the whole secondary cycle. Cost: no admission letter until a corrected letter arrives.
- A certificate that is too old. Bologna takes certificates from 1 January 2023 and Genoa from January 2024. Cost: a new test and possibly a missed round.
- A home test where it is not accepted. Genoa rejects remote exams and Trento accepts online tests only at a test centre. Cost: a second test.
- Admission by interview with nothing on paper. Federico II warns that English testing after enrolment can make the visa procedure fail. Cost: a refused visa, the €50 visa fee (about ₹5,460 at the ECB rate of 25 September 2026, €1 = ₹109.2605) and, as the University of Milano-Bicocca notes, the end of that year's university place.
- A Duolingo result sent where it is not listed. Cost: a new certificate from an accepted body, and weeks of waiting for the result.
Check your eligibility first. If you are eligible, you book a one-to-one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Frequently asked questions
Is IELTS compulsory to study in Italy?
No: IELTS is one accepted proof of English, not a requirement in itself. Most programmes ask for B2, the level consulates check for the visa, and universities also accept TOEFL, PTE, Cambridge and, at many of them, an MOI letter or their own test. We check which proofs each programme on your list accepts.
Is an MOI letter enough for an Italian student visa?
At two offices, yes: the 2026/27 and 2027/28 checklists of the consulates in Kolkata and Bengaluru accept an MOI declaration from your previous institution instead of a B2 certificate. The New Delhi embassy's latest checklist, dated June 2025, asks for B2 certification, preferably IELTS or TOEFL. We prepare the proof your consulate asks for.
Does Politecnico di Milano accept an MOI letter?
Yes, for master's applicants. Its rules updated for 2027/28 exempt students whose bachelor's was taught in English for at least three years, with a university document showing that at least 75% of courses were in English. Otherwise it asks for a certificate such as IELTS 6, PTE Academic 59 or TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale.
Which Italian universities accept Duolingo from students from countries like India?
In our check of 22 public universities, only two: the University of Padua, which asks for 115 on its 2027/28 list, and Federico II's bachelor's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology for 2026/27. Verona accepts Duolingo only from applicants from Iran or Afghanistan, and Perugia states that it does not accept it.
Can I get into a master's in Italy with an interview instead of IELTS?
At some universities: Tor Vergata's European Economy and Business Law master's checks English in its online interview if you have no certificate, and Pisa's Exploration and Applied Geophysics uses a video interview. The University of Milan runs its own SLAM test. Most consulate checklists still ask for a certificate or an MOI declaration.
What TOEFL score do Italian universities ask for after the January 2026 change?
For TOEFL iBT tests taken from 21 January 2026, the University of Padua and Politecnico di Milano both ask for 4.5 on the new scale, and Trento asks for 4 in each skill. For older tests, Padua asks for 86 and Politecnico di Milano for 78; others we checked print 69 to 87.
Does ApplyAZ check my English proof with each university?
Yes, for eligible students. We read the 2027/28 rules of every programme you apply to, match your proof to what each university and your consulate accept, and check your MOI letter or certificate before it is uploaded. We then handle the applications, Universitaly pre-enrolment, the DSU application and the visa file.
Sources
- Ministry of University and Research (MUR), circular on international students for 2026/27 and 2027/28, Part II, p. 18 (B2 in the course language at the visa stage) and p. 3 (visa deadlines), verified 28 September 2026.
- Universitaly, foreign students, 2026/27 and 2027/28, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Padua, language requirement for admission, 2027/28 selection, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Padua, English certificate list, September 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Padua, exemptions from the English certificate, September 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- Sapienza University of Rome, online pre-selection requirements 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- Sapienza University of Rome, English language requirements 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Bologna, English language requirement, Digital Humanities and Digital Knowledge, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Bologna, programme enrolment and call for applications 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Trento, admission for non-Europeans 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Trento Language Centre, English certificates accepted as entry requirements, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Naples Federico II, bachelor's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, language requirements 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Naples Federico II, MSc Mechanical Engineering for Energy and Environment, FAQ for 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Turin, Area and Global Studies for International Cooperation, 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Turin, Business Administration, 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Milan, English requirements for master's degree courses 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Milan, accepted English certificates, June 2025, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Pisa, call for Exploration and Applied Geophysics 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Pisa, Computer Science master's, English B2 requirement, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Pavia, FAQ for prospective students, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Pavia, International Business and Entrepreneurship, evaluation criteria 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Pavia, International Business and Entrepreneurship, entry requirements, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Siena, English proficiency, admissions 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Siena Language Centre, approved English certificates, November 2025, verified 28 September 2026.
- Politecnico di Milano, master's documents and certificates updated for 2027/28, verified 28 September 2026.
- Politecnico di Milano, master's requirements for foreign qualifications, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Palermo, language requirements for international students, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Palermo, Tourism Systems and Hospitality Management application manual 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Rome Tor Vergata, European Economy and Business Law, call for applications 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Rome Tor Vergata, Business Administration, English requirement, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Parma, guidelines for admission 2026/27, Global Studies, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Genoa, selection 2026/27 for master's taught in English, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Genoa, recognised language certificates, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Verona, international master's call for 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Catania, call for non-EU master's in English 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Perugia, language requirements for international students, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Digital Automation Engineering, non-EU call 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- Politecnica delle Marche, international admission guidelines 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- Politecnica delle Marche, English language requirement page, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Florence, MSc Economics and Development, enrolment and admission requirements, updated 16 August 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Florence, Economics and Development programme page, study plans 2026/27, verified 28 September 2026.
- Ca' Foscari University of Venice, master's language requirements, updated 23 September 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- Ca' Foscari University of Venice, B2 after enrolment for master's, verified 28 September 2026.
- Ca' Foscari University of Venice, recognised certificates, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Kolkata, study visa checklist 2026/27 and 2027/28, item 10, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Bengaluru (VFS Global), study visa requisites 2026/27 and 2027/28, item 12, verified 28 September 2026.
- Embassy of Italy in New Delhi (VFS Global), study visa checklist, June 2025, item 9, verified 28 September 2026.
- Embassy of Italy in New Delhi, student procedures and services, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Mumbai, study visa checklist 2024/25, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Mumbai, study in Italy (video interview), verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Kolkata, visas and jurisdiction, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Bengaluru, visas and jurisdiction, verified 28 September 2026.
- Consulate General of Italy in Mumbai, visas and jurisdiction, verified 28 September 2026.
- Embassy of Italy in New Delhi, visas, jurisdiction and visa fees, verified 28 September 2026.
- University of Milano-Bicocca, pre-enrolment and language proficiency (visa refusal rule), verified 28 September 2026.
- European Central Bank, euro reference rate for INR, 25 September 2026, verified 28 September 2026.
- ApplyAZ programme catalogue, English-only programmes as listed by Universitaly, counted on 28 September 2026.
Exchange rate: 1 EUR = 109.2605 INR, the ECB euro reference rate of 25 September 2026. INR amounts are rounded.
Your next step: Check your eligibility. If you are eligible, you book a one-to-one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Where they're studying now
Students who started exactly where you are
English-taught programmes that can be tuition-free for eligible students, and the DSU grant landing in their account every year. The funding mechanics are identical at every Italian public university: the same ISEE Parificato, the same regional bando, the same ranking. Only the authority and the dates change.




They began right where you are
Now they're studying at Italian public universities, where a degree can be tuition-free for eligible students, with DSU scholarships of up to about €8,250 a year for students living away from home, depending on the region.
