DSU scholarship · Lombardy
Politecnico di Milano Scholarship 2026/27: Amounts, Deadlines and Documents
What Politecnico di Milano's 2026/27 DSU call says for first-year students from countries like India: pending figures, the partner CAF route, deadlines and the credits to keep the grant.
Applications closed 5 Aug 2026. Provisional grant ranking 29 Sep 2026, appeals to 6 Oct, fuori sede request by 9 Oct, final ranking 10 Nov 2026. Amounts pending; re-check 12 Oct 2026.

Photo: Krzysztof on Unsplash
In short
- Politecnico di Milano's 2026/27 grant amounts are pending Lombardy's decision (art. 13); Regione Lombardia announced on 17 Jun 2026 an average of 7,172 EUR for students living away from home.
- Lombardy's announced ISEE and ISPE limits are 26,887.93 and 58,452.06 EUR; winners get meal vouchers and a refund of fees except the administrative fee (art. 4.1, 19).
- Applications closed 5 Aug 2026; next check 12 Oct 2026; see all 16 DSU scholarships.
ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, helps eligible students by preparing their ISEE parificato and DSU application.
Free check, about two minutes.
Key facts for 2026/27
| Issuing body | Politecnico di Milano, Servizio Diritto allo Studio, which runs the Lombardy DSU call for its own students (art. 1, art. 13) |
|---|---|
| Universities covered | |
| ISEE limit | Pending Lombardy's decision (art. 3.6); we check again on 12 Oct 2026. Regione Lombardia announced 26,887.93 EUR (about INR 29,57,000) on 17 Jun 2026 |
| ISPE limit | Pending Lombardy's decision (art. 3.6); we check again on 12 Oct 2026. Regione Lombardia announced 58,452.06 EUR (about INR 64,29,000) on 17 Jun 2026 |
| Grant by status and income | Fuori sede, pendolare and in sede: amounts and deductions pending Lombardy's decision (art. 13); we check again on 12 Oct 2026. Regione Lombardia announced on 17 Jun 2026 average 2026/27 grants of 7,172 EUR (about INR 7,89,000) fuori sede, 4,191 EUR pendolare and 2,991 EUR in sede; these are regional averages, not Polimi's published amounts. Added as services: meal vouchers of 5.00 EUR a day (fuori sede) or 4.50 EUR a day (others) and, for bed winners, subsidised housing deducted from the grant (art. 19.3, 29). |
| What is included | Cash net of service deductions, amounts pending Lombardy's decision (art. 13); Policard meal vouchers from 16 Nov 2026 to 14 Nov 2027, 5.00 EUR a day Monday to Sunday for fuori sede and 4.50 EUR a day Monday to Friday for others (art. 19); a subsidised bed for housing winners, cost deducted (art. 29); fees refunded once the grant is confirmed, so study can be tuition-free for eligible students apart from the administrative fee (art. 4.1) |
| Family income year | Not stated in the call (art. 3.2) |
| Application window | Opening date not stated; closed 5 Aug 2026 at 12:00 Italian time for first-years (art. 7) |
| Foreign documents deadline | 5 Aug 2026, delivered to Polimi's partner CAF, on pain of inadmissibility (art. 3.2) |
| ISEE parificato route | CAF: only through Polimi's partner CAF, which sends the ISEEU and ISPEU parificato to Polimi electronically; no other route is valid (art. 3.2) |
| First-year payment dates | 50% processed by Dec 2026; 50% by Oct 2027 only with the credits by 10 Aug 2027; Master's from semester 2: by Jun 2027 and Oct 2027. Needs in-person identification, visa issued and an Italian or SEPA IBAN (art. 18) |
| Credits to keep the grant | Semester-1 starters, Bachelor's and Master's: 35 credits (Engineering, Architecture) or 40 (Design) by 10 Aug 2027; Master's from semester 2: 17; no bonus; 30 Nov 2027 is the last date to avoid full revocation (art. 4.1, 4.4) |
Source: Politecnico di Milano Bando 2026/27, articles as shown. Verified on 28 September 2026. INR at the FBIL reference rate of 18 Sep 2026 (1 EUR = 109.99 INR).
Who can apply to Politecnico di Milano's DSU grant from countries like India?
First-year students of any Politecnico di Milano programme could apply, even before enrolling, if instead of an ISEE (the Italian family income indicator) the family obtained an ISEEU parificato (the income statement for families outside Italy) through Polimi's partner CAF (tax assistance centre), with documents delivered by 5 August 2026 (Bando 2026/27, art. 2, 3.2).
The income limits are pending Lombardy's decision: the bando (official call) leaves the ISEE and ISPE (the family assets indicator) limits to a Regione Lombardia resolution and a later integration to the call (art. 3.6). Regione Lombardia announced on 17 June 2026 limits of 26,887.93 EUR (about INR 29,57,000) for ISEE and 58,452.06 EUR (about INR 64,29,000) for ISPE. We check Polimi's integration again on 12 October 2026.
Students who already hold an Italian or foreign degree at the same or a higher level cannot apply (art. 2). For particularly poor countries the call refers to Decreto MUR n. 176 of 24 February 2026 and does not reproduce the list (art. 3.4).
How much is the Politecnico di Milano grant in 2026/27?
The amount is pending Lombardy's decision: Polimi's call leaves the exact grant, and the meal and housing deductions, to a Regione Lombardia resolution and a later integration to the call (Bando 2026/27, art. 13). We check again on 12 October 2026. The call funds 1,700 grants, including 250 for first-year Bachelor's and 290 for first-year Master's students.
For reference only, Regione Lombardia announced on 17 June 2026 that 2026/27 grants will average 7,172 EUR (about INR 7,89,000) for fuori sede (living away from home), 4,191 EUR for pendolare (commuter) and 2,991 EUR for in sede (living at home) students. These are regional averages, not amounts published by Polimi.
What the call does fix: the grant is part cash and part services, with meal vouchers worth 5.00 EUR a day, Monday to Sunday, for fuori sede students and 4.50 EUR a day, Monday to Friday, for the others (art. 13, 19.3). Fuori sede is not automatic: it needs MODULO A and a lease registered in the student's name covering 1 October 2026 to 31 July 2027, sent by 9 October 2026 (art. 14.1).
Which documents does the family need from abroad for Politecnico di Milano?
Polimi's call does not list them. The family's documents for the ISEEU parificato go only to Polimi's partner CAF, by 5 August 2026 for first-years, and the call refers to the polimi.it page for students with income and assets abroad (Bando 2026/27, art. 3.2). The income year and any legalisation or translation rule are not stated.
Our ISEE parificato guide explains how this income statement works across Italy, and the documents section below sets out exactly what this call says. The call names no codice fiscale (Italian tax code) requirement for the DSU grant.
When are the Politecnico di Milano deadlines for 2026/27?
First-year applications closed on 5 August 2026 at 12:00 Italian time, the same day as the partner CAF deadline and the housing request (Bando 2026/27, art. 7, 3.2, 22.1). The provisional grant ranking is due on 29 September 2026, appeals close on 6 October, and the final ranking follows on 10 November 2026 (art. 17).
The fuori sede request, MODULO A with the registered lease in a single email, is due by 9 October 2026; a lease still being registered can have its receipt sent by 30 October 2026 (art. 14.1). Its outcome comes with the final ranking on 10 November (art. 14.2).
Later dates: the first-year credit check on 10 August 2027, the last chance to avoid full revocation on 30 November 2027, and a valid IBAN by 31 December 2027 (art. 4.1, 4.4, 18.1). Our DSU deadlines page sets these next to the other Italian calls.
How and when is the Polimi grant paid?
For first-years starting in semester 1, Polimi processes 50% of the grant by December 2026 and the other 50% by October 2027, only if the required credits were earned by 10 August 2027 (Bando 2026/27, art. 18). These are processing dates; the money usually reaches the account at least 5 to 7 working days later.
Before any payment the student must be identified in person by the Student Office, have the visa issued and enter a valid IBAN (art. 18). The IBAN must be Italian or SEPA and in the student's name, or joint; a non-SEPA account suspends the cash part, and no valid IBAN by 31 December 2027 forfeits it (art. 18.1).
Master's students starting in semester 2 receive half of the annual grant, by June 2027 and by October 2027 (art. 13, 18).
How many credits do you need to keep the Polimi grant?
First-year students starting in semester 1 need at least 35 CFU (university credits) in the Schools of Engineering and Architecture, or 40 CFU in the School of Design, registered by 10 August 2027 (Bando 2026/27, art. 4.1). Master's students starting in semester 2 need 17 CFU. The credit bonus cannot be used in the first year.
Only effective credits in the 2026/27 study plan count, not supernumerary exams, single courses or unfinished multi-module courses, and credits are counted from the first enrolment at the same level anywhere, including abroad (art. 4.2, 4.3). See our guide to credits to keep your grant.
What happens if you miss the credits at Politecnico di Milano?
Missing the credits on 10 August 2027 loses the second instalment and meal access. Reaching them by 30 November 2027 is a partial revocation: the student keeps the first instalment and the fee refund but repays part of the housing value and the meals used from 1 May 2027 (Bando 2026/27, art. 4.4).
Without the credits by 30 November 2027 the grant is fully revoked: the first instalment and the value of all meals and housing are repaid, the fee refund is lost, and no new DSU application is possible until the debt is paid (art. 4.4).
Can you get a Politecnico di Milano residence bed?
Only if subsidised housing was requested in the same application by 5 August 2026; 33% of first-year places go to students from non-EU countries (Bando 2026/27, art. 22.1, 26). The first-year housing ranking became final on 9 September 2026, so requests through this call have closed (art. 27).
First-year places: Milan 111 for Bachelor's and 110 for Master's students, Como 29 and 15, Lecco 10 and 10, Cremona 10 and 14 (art. 23). The bed cost is deducted from the grant and is pending Lombardy's decision (art. 29). Polimi also teaches in Mantova and Piacenza, where this call lists no subsidised residence (art. 23).
Bed winners accept within 48 hours, pay a 500 EUR deposit within 48 hours of accepting and move in within 15 working days; a refused visa counts as giving up the bed, and the cost may still be charged (art. 28.1, 31).
Documents from abroad for the Politecnico di Milano 2026/27 call
Polimi's call does not itemise the family documents. It requires the documentation needed for the ISEEU parificato to reach Polimi's partner CAF by 5 August 2026 for first-years, on pain of inadmissibility, and it refers to the polimi.it page for students with income and assets abroad (art. 3.2).
- The documentation needed for the ISEEU parificato, delivered only to Polimi's partner CAF; no other route is valid, and the CAF sends the result to Polimi electronically (art. 3.2).
- It must be complete, truthful and consistent with the Italian rules on entry and stay for study; clearly implausible income or asset values can lead Polimi to ask for more evidence or reject the file (art. 3.2).
- For students from particularly poor countries only: a certificate from the Italian representation that the family is not known for high income and social standing, plus a document or self-declaration of the family composition (art. 3.4). The list is set by Decreto MUR n. 176 of 24 February 2026, which the call does not reproduce.
- Not stated in the call: the reference year for income and assets, and any legalisation, apostille or translation rule for family documents (art. 3.2).
For eligible students we collect, check, translate and legalise this file with the family to the partner CAF's requirements, and prepare it for the CAF appointment. From the 2027/28 call, Polimi will also test foreign family documents against a minimum family means threshold linked to the study-visa amount (art. 3.2, note 7).
Check your eligibility first
It takes about two minutes. If you are eligible, you book a one to one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Reality check
What Politecnico di Milano decides: who is eligible, the first-year ranking, which is based only on income, fuori sede status, beds and whether the credits are met (art. 14, 16, 26). The amounts and deductions come from Regione Lombardia and reach the call through an integration (art. 13).
What we handle: for eligible students we prepare the family file for the partner CAF, prepare the application with the student and sit with them while they send it from their own Servizi Online area (art. 8), and then follow MODULO A and the lease, the IBAN and the credit check. We never promise a grant, a bed or a ranking position.
The two mistakes that cost students this grant most often:
- Not handing the family's income and asset documents to Polimi's partner CAF, the only valid route for the ISEEU parificato, by 5 August 2026. The application is then inadmissible, and missing or late documents mean exclusion from the ranking (art. 3.2, art. 9).
- Not earning 35 CFU (Engineering and Architecture) or 40 CFU (Design) by 10 August 2027. The second half is lost, and without the minimum by 30 November 2027 the grant is fully revoked: the first instalment and the value of meals and housing are repaid and the fee refund is lost (art. 4.1, 4.4).
Universities and cities covered
Universities
Cities
Programmes
Your visa: which Italian office handles you
The scholarship is one track. The study visa and the declaration of value (DOV) run alongside it. The visa goes to the Italian office for the state where you live, and the DOV to the office for the state that issued your degree. For eligible students, we prepare and check the whole file.
Check your eligibility first
It takes about two minutes. If you are eligible, you book a one to one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Frequently asked questions about Politecnico di Milano
Do I pay tuition at Polimi if I win the DSU grant?
First-years pay the first fee instalment to enrol and must also pay the second. Once the grant is confirmed, both are refunded except the administrative fee, so study can be tuition-free for eligible students apart from that fee. Presenting the ISEEU parificato also avoids the top fee band (art. 4.1). A full revocation cancels the refund (art. 4.4).
I already hold a Bachelor's degree. Can I get the grant for a second Bachelor's at Polimi?
No. Students who already hold an Italian or foreign degree at the same or a higher level than the course they apply for cannot compete (art. 2). A Bachelor's graduate can apply as a first-year Master's student, and earlier enrolment at the same level anywhere, including abroad, changes the profile to later years (art. 4.2).
Can I combine the Polimi DSU grant with another scholarship?
Not with similar aid from Polimi or other public or private bodies, with limited exceptions such as grants for study or research stays abroad. A student who chooses the other scholarship must tell the office within 10 days of accepting it. Paid student collaborations remain open to grant holders (art. 12.1).
Can the Polimi grant go to a bank account back home?
Only if it is an Italian or SEPA account in the student's name, a joint account, or a prepaid card on such an account in the student's name alone. An account outside SEPA suspends the cash part until it is corrected, and no valid IBAN by 31 December 2027 means losing it (art. 18.1).
Do I have to be fuori sede to get the Polimi grant?
No. Fuori sede status is not needed to compete: without a request, the student keeps the natural status of pendolare or pendolare 90+ (art. 14.2). The fuori sede amount needs a lease starting by 1 October 2026 and running to 31 July 2027; a lease starting later is not valid (art. 14.1).
Will the rules for families abroad change next year at Polimi?
Yes, the call announces it. From the 2027/28 call, foreign family documents will also be judged against a minimum family means threshold linked to the amount required for a study visa (art. 3.2, note 7). The 2026/27 call does not apply this test.
Is every eligible student funded at Polimi?
Only up to the number of grants: 1,700 in total, 250 for first-year Bachelor's and 290 for first-year Master's students, with unused grants moved to the ranking with more eligible students (art. 13, 17.1). First-years are ranked only by income, and Master's students starting in semester 2 are paid only if funds remain (art. 16).
Can ApplyAZ prepare my Politecnico di Milano application?
Yes, for eligible students. We prepare the partner CAF file, the MODULO A and lease, and the application, which the student sends from their own Servizi Online area while we sit with them. Polimi decides the grant. Check your eligibility first; if eligible, you book a one to one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Your next step: check your eligibility first. It takes about two minutes. If you are eligible, you book a one to one consultation with one of our Italy experts, and from there we take care of everything.
Other regions
Sources
- Bando Politecnico di Milano 2026/27 (Italian, the legally valid text)
- DSU Call 2026/27 (English version, for information)
- Politecnico di Milano DSU page
- Politecnico di Milano website
- Regione Lombardia, Borse di studio universitarie 2026/2027 (announced limits and average grants, 17 June 2026)
- Verified on 28 September 2026
- Written by İrem Yılmaz, Student Experience Lead. Reviewed by Reeya Sharma.
