Master in Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development at University of Turin
Two-year English-taught master in Biella on cultural heritage, creativity and tourism: exhibition making, film heritage curatorship, sustainable cultural industries and heritage storytelling, with electives on the Alps, fashion and industrial tourism.
Master
2 years
Turin
English
University of Turin



Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-49-R) taught in English by the University of Turin in Biella. Admission is by dossier and interview. Students residing abroad pay €500 to €1,500 a year by country, and this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students.
Entry requirements
Detailed entry requirements
Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development requires a suitable first degree, at least 48 relevant credits across three disciplinary areas, English evidence and a positive dossier/interview assessment. Foreign graduates who lack basic Italian must complete the specified intensive course before classes. Current 2026/27 sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1-6]
Qualifying first degree and the 48-credit distribution
Hold a first degree or three-year university diploma, or a recognised suitable foreign equivalent. Eligible backgrounds include humanities and economics/management/law, three-year conservatory or arts-academy qualifications, and other first-degree classes whose academic record satisfies the curriculum. In every case, document at least 48 equivalent ECTS/CFU in the listed LM-49 subject sectors, spanning at least three disciplinary areas. Forty-eight is the total, rather than a minimum of 48 in each area. The sources do not require an equal 16-credit split among three areas. [1, 2]
The international listing separates history, art history, media/performing arts, foreign languages, economics/management, law/social sciences and geography/landscape sciences. We show which transcript courses fall in each block, with credits/hours and syllabi where necessary. A relevant degree title or work experience alone does not document the 48-credit requirement. [1, 2]
- History: Greek/Roman history, classical/Christian/medieval archaeology, medieval/modern/contemporary history, history of religions and economic history. Older sectors: L-ANT/02-03, L-ANT/07-08, M-STO/01-02, M-STO/04, M-STO/06 and SECS-P/12. [1, 2]
- Art history: medieval, modern and contemporary art, museology, art/restoration criticism. Media/performing arts: performance, cinema/photography/television and musicology/music history. Older sectors L-ART/01-07; the catalogue also provides current ARTE and PEMM equivalents. [1, 2]
- Foreign languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese/Brazilian, English and German language/translation, in older L-LIN/04, /07, /09, /12 and /14 or the catalogue’s corresponding current language sectors. [1, 2]
- Economics/management: political economy, economic policy, business economics, business management and organisation, in SECS-P/01-02, /07-08 and /10 or current ECON equivalents. [1, 2]
- Law/social sciences: private, commercial, navigation, public, international and EU law; social psychology; economic/social statistics; general, cultural/communication, economic/work and environmental/territorial sociology. The catalogue supplies the current GIUR, PSIC, STAT and GSPS sector equivalents. [1, 2]
- Geography/landscape: ecology, physical geography/geomorphology, topography/cartography, landscape architecture, geography, economic/political geography and demography. Older BIO/07, GEO/04, ICAR/06, ICAR/15, M-GGR/01-02 and SECS-S/04, or their current equivalents. [1, 2]
English B2: accepted certificates and official MOI alternative
The international portal requires at least B2 and accepts Cambridge CPE or CAE; FCE at least 173 (B); PTE Academic at least 65; IELTS at least 5.5/9 with every component at least 5.5; TOEFL iBT at least 69/120 with every component at least 17; or Trinity College ISE II. The reviewed listing does not specify a programme-wide certificate-age limit or conversion for a differently scaled TOEFL report. [1]
As an alternative, the portal accepts an official document from your previous university stating that the medium of instruction was English. The catalogue also says English is assessed at interview where a certificate is not held. We follow the foreign-qualification checklist: official MOI is the expressly published document alternative, and we confirm for your application route whether an interview alone, without either document, is enough. English competence is still assessed. [1, 2]
Basic Italian before classes for relevant foreign graduates
Applicants with a foreign qualification who are not native Italian speakers need basic Italian sufficient for student/local community participation and activities such as workshops or placements in Italy. If this knowledge is not demonstrated at admission, the catalogue requires an intensive basic-Italian course to be passed before classes begin. The university’s Italian-learning provision can support this requirement. No universal Italian B2 threshold is printed for this English-taught programme in the reviewed rules. [2]
Dossier, interview and completing academic gaps
The selection dossier includes the first-level qualification, CV and study history in Italian or English, any English certification, and a cover/motivation letter explaining programme interest and personal/professional goals. A commission of at least three programme teachers evaluates the documents and an admission interview. The interview establishes the basic preparation needed for the master’s; catalogue sessions are scheduled at least annually, in blended/public form, with programme notice. Reasoned requests for another date may be considered. [1, 2]
If curricular knowledge or credits are missing, the teaching council’s commission can prescribe individual courses. Their assessments must be passed before the relevant preparation verification/master’s enrolment. Positive motivation or experience is not an automatic waiver of unresolved curricular deficiencies. The reviewed portal does not publish a universal final-grade cutoff and reserves 85 places for non-European applicants residing abroad. [1, 2]
Recognition and the complete foreign-qualification file
The university requires a first-cycle or integrated qualification at the relevant EQF/EHEA/ISCED level 6, obtained after at least 15 total years of education, and assesses recognition/accreditation, qualification level, duration, academic rights and document authenticity. We submit the first-cycle or integrated award and any intermediate qualification used to reach it; a master’s or doctorate alone does not replace the entry qualification. Curricular suitability for this programme remains a separate condition. [3, 4]
We prepare your file with the qualifying degree and a full transcript recording all examinations, grades, study hours and/or credits, with all informative pages and reverse sides; a CV; and a motivation letter in English or Italian. We include programme-specific language, subject and assessment evidence. An official international-model Diploma Supplement can replace degree/transcript documents only if it includes complete records, is signed/sealed and carries required authenticity evidence. [1, 4]
Provide valid identity evidence: an ID for eligible Italian/EU/equivalent applicants, or a passport for non-EU applicants. Non-EU residents in Italy need the applicable permit allowing university enrolment. Documents are accepted in Italian, English, French or Spanish; otherwise include both originals and certified translations into an accepted language. Unsigned or unstamped/unsealed documents and incomplete applications are not accepted. [4]
If you graduate later, we upload the official last-year enrolment certificate identifying the study path and expected qualification, plus an official transcript/score report for completed semesters. The final qualifying award is necessary for enrolment. Detailed syllabi, the grading scale and a Declaration of Value/CIMEA Comparability are useful and can become mandatory if the office or programme requests them. [4]
2026/27 international calls and application fee
Foreign qualifications normally require an Apply@UniTo application, regardless of citizenship, except the university’s explicitly exempt categories. The fee is €60 and permits selection of up to two programmes. We use the programme’s checklist as well as the central document requirements. [3, 4]
For 2026/27, the principal postgraduate application window was 25 November 2025 to 29 January 2026. The second open-access postgraduate call was 25 August to 8 September 2026 and restricted to Italians, EU/equivalent applicants and non-EU citizens legally resident in Italy. Both windows have closed at the review date. The October window on the central page concerns undergraduate and five/six-year degrees, rather than these two-year master’s programmes. No confirmed 2027/28 calendar is provided in the reviewed sources. [3]
For non-EU visa applicants abroad, the published 2026/27 Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline was 15 July 2026 for this category of programme. We select the correct academic year, one programme and the competent diplomatic representation. University eligibility or Universitaly validation does not complete university enrolment or determine the embassy’s visa decision. [3]
Departmental admission, MyUniTo and final enrolment
This programme appears in the university’s open-access postgraduate procedures. After the required academic evaluation, we follow the department’s own instructions and dates. The listed local preliminary route is type B: Preliminary admission form for postgraduate degrees. For a foreign qualification, this local procedure must be read together with the international application instructions; it does not create a replacement Apply deadline. [3, 6]
The ordinary 2026/27 MyUniTo enrolment window runs from 23 July 2026 at 09:30 to 14 January 2027 at 15:00 Italian time, subject to any earlier programme-specific deadline. Registration requires the academic clearance, valid identity document, suitable photograph and Italian tax-code details. International students cannot independently pay the first instalment: the International Students Office checks the request and emails payment instructions. [5, 6]
A later first-payment completion date of 31 March 2027 at 15:00 is available under the central policy only for students already admitted to a first year with open access who followed all required enrolment procedures on time but still lack documentation. This is not a new admission round or a universal extension of departmental requirements. [5]
For non-EU applicants abroad, final payment/enrolment requires the appropriate 2026/27 study visa, residence-permit application receipt, official Italian fiscal code and complete authenticated study documentation. We follow the current instructions for supplying the permit after issuance. Applicants in other categories supply their corresponding identity/residence and study records. [4, 5]
Authenticity evidence and final academic records
Final enrolment requires verification of the degree and transcript. Accepted methods depend on the issuing system and can include legalisation, an apostille, ENIC-NARIC verification or an accepted official digital service. The university specifies direct sharing procedures for electronic transcripts. Translation, comparability and authenticity are different checks; a translated document alone does not establish that it is authentic. [4]
The university can request additional qualification evidence or originals. Providing valid authenticity evidence at application can speed up final checks; an optional CIMEA comparison document is not mandatory for every initial application. We supply each document requested for your applicant file by the applicable dates. [4, 5]
Sources and verification
- University of Turin, Apply@UniTo course 694: Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development, 2026/27 listing; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development, current degree catalogue with 2026/27 teaching entries, Admission requirements; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Application for international students, current 2026/27 guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Required documents for international students, standing qualification and document guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Enrolment for international students, current 2026/27 guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Postgraduate degrees with free admission, 2026/27 procedures; reviewed 6 October 2026.
About the programme
Cultural Heritage and Creativity for Tourism and Territorial Development is a two-year master's degree in class LM-49-R, the Italian class for the design and management of tourism systems. It is worth 120 ECTS, taught in English and run by the Department of Historical Studies at the University of Turin's seat in Biella, in Piedmont, rather than in Turin itself.
Access is open, but every applicant goes through a check of their dossier and an interview. The degree joins history, art, film, law, management and environmental studies to look at how heritage and creativity can drive tourism and the development of a territory. It suits graduates in the humanities, languages, economics or social sciences who want to work where culture meets tourism.
What you will study
The first year is a compulsory block of nine courses. In the second year you choose up to 24 ECTS of electives, take one 8 ECTS language course in French or Spanish and write an 18 ECTS thesis. Units in the 2026/27 study plan include:
- Making an Art Exhibition of Modern and Contemporary Art (8 ECTS)
- Film Heritage: Programming and Curatorship (8 ECTS)
- Research, Storytelling, Enhancement of Historical and Cultural Heritage (8 ECTS)
- Sustainability in Cultural Industries (8 ECTS)
- Introduction to Comparative Law and Cultural Development (8 ECTS)
- Environment and Climate: Resources and Threats (8 ECTS)
- Fundamentals of Management (4 ECTS) and English for Cultural Heritage and Tourism (3 ECTS)
- Electives such as Industrial Tourism and Business Culture, Fashion and Creativity, Geographies of Tourism, and a social history of the Alps
How the programme is taught
Beyond lectures, the study plan includes traineeships (a first one of 3 ECTS and a second of up to 8 ECTS), a 3 ECTS workshop in digital curatorial practices and other practical activities. Further electives cover playful design for cultural heritage, energy transition and climate change, and science, technique and work in the industrial age. International students can take Italian for beginners, and the UNITA European university alliance adds short courses and blended intensive programmes.
Career paths
The course pages do not list professional profiles for this degree. What the study plan prepares you for is work in cultural heritage and tourism: curating exhibitions and film programmes, managing cultural organisations with attention to sustainability, researching and telling the story of historical heritage, and developing tourism linked to industry, fashion and the Alpine territory.
The class of the degree, the design and management of tourism systems, points in the same direction: projects that use a territory's culture to attract visitors and support local development. The traineeships are a first step into these settings.
Fees and scholarships
This degree does not appear on UniTo's list of additional contributions. For 2026/27, students residing abroad pay a fixed contribution set by the GDP per capita of their country of residence, €500 to €1,500 a year within the standard length of the degree, plus €156 for regional tax and stamp duty; students from the particularly poor countries on the ministry's list pay the €156 only. EDISU Piemonte scholarship winners have their fees refunded, so this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students.
How to apply from outside the EU
Applicants with a foreign qualification apply through Apply@UniTo. We check your file against this programme’s academic, language and assessment requirements and submit the complete document file. The detailed requirements section sets out the published 2026/27 deadlines, any test/interview exemptions and the separate final-enrolment stages. [1-6]
How ApplyAZ helps
ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.
For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:
- We check your transcript against Turin's entry rules for this programme.
- We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
- We prepare and submit your Apply@UniTo application with your selection dossier, and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
- We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your EDISU Piemonte scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
- We prepare your visa file.
With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).
Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.
Questions and answers
Do I need 48 credits in each area?
No. You need at least 48 eligible credits in total, covering at least three listed disciplinary areas. The rules do not require an equal 16-credit split. [1, 2]
Can an arts-academy graduate apply?
Yes. The rules include relevant three-year conservatory and arts-academy qualifications, alongside other suitable first degrees. The required subject credits and positive interview/dossier assessment still apply. [1, 2]
Can I submit an English-medium letter?
Yes. The portal accepts an official document from your previous university stating that the medium of instruction was English, as an alternative to its listed B2 certificates. [1]
What IELTS score is required?
At least 5.5 overall and in every component. Other published options include PTE Academic 65, TOEFL iBT 69/120 with every component at least 17, and the listed Cambridge/Trinity qualifications. [1]
Must I know Italian?
Foreign graduates who are not native Italian speakers need basic Italian for local/student activities. If they cannot demonstrate it at admission, they must pass an intensive basic-Italian course before classes begin. [2]
Is the admission interview compulsory?
Yes. At least three programme teachers assess the dossier and interview. The catalogue permits blended sessions and consideration of reasoned alternative-date requests. [2]
Can someone handle my whole application to Cultural Heritage and Creativity at Turin?
Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Turin's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the EDISU Piemonte scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.
I'm applying from India. What is the route into Cultural Heritage and Creativity?
Indian graduates need a first degree with at least 48 credits in the listed subject sectors, across at least three areas such as history, art history, languages, economics, law or geography [1, 2]. A BA, B.Com or BBA may fit if the transcript shows those credits. English B2 is required, such as IELTS 5.5 in every band, or an official MOI letter [1]. A dossier assessment and interview follow [1, 2]. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.
Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?
No. The academic rules for Cultural Heritage and Creativity are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: an Apply@UniTo application, the dossier assessment and interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.
I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?
At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Cultural Heritage and Creativity are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: an Apply@UniTo application, the dossier assessment and interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.
I'm applying from the UK, US, Canada, Singapore or Malaysia. Is anything different?
The academic rules are identical. Non-EU applicants who live abroad, including citizens of these countries, follow the same route: an Apply@UniTo application, the dossier assessment and interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa. Read our guides for London, New York, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.
More English-taught programmes at this university
Other public universities in this city
They began right where you are
