Master in Quantitative and Computational Biosciences at University of Padua

Blended English-taught master in Padua that combines biology with mathematics, physics and statistics to train bioinformaticians, with units in Python, machine learning, sequencing data and systems biology, plus a research internship.

Master

2 years

Padua

English

University of Padua

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
University of Padua
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Padova

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Padua
Public university · Veneto · Founded 1222
View university →
In short

Quantitative and Computational Biosciences is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-6-R) taught in English in blended mode at the University of Padua, training bioinformaticians and data scientists for biology. Non-EU students whose family lives abroad pay a fixed €2,990 a year (2026/27); Veneto regional scholarship winners are exempt.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-6-R
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
English
Intake
2027/28, October intake
Entrance test
Qualification, curricular and personal-preparation assessment by the university. Foreign qualifications use Apply Unipd and country recognition rules; Italian-degree holders follow the separate Uniweb call. Programme-specific grades and subjects are detailed on this page. The public listing does not state a universal written test or fixed interview duration.
Language requirement
English B2. Foreign qualifications: IELTS 6.0; TOEFL iBT/Home 86 before 21 January 2026 or 4.5 thereafter; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo 115; other listed certificates or specified exemptions. Evidence due by 31 July 2027 for the 2027/28 route. Italian-degree applicants follow their own Annex 2.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Quantitative and Computational Biosciences has open admission for applicants who meet its qualification, subject-preparation, grade and language requirements. The latest foreign-qualification listing is for 2027/28, while the separate Italian-degree call is for 2026/27. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026.

Relevant degree, subject knowledge and programme-specific grade assessment

A minimum three-year undergraduate degree, or equivalent, in biology, biotechnology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, informatics, statistics or engineering. [1]

The Department of Biology’s enrolment guidance states a GPA or bachelor’s final mark of at least 95/110 or a converted equivalent, in addition to its broad range of eligible STEM degrees and English B2. The foreign-qualification portal also refers to country-specific award and GPA requirements. We treat the course’s stated grade requirement and country recognition rules as separate parts of the assessment. [1, 3, 10]

The university evaluates your transcript and academic suitability in addition to whether your award permits access to a master’s degree. We prepare and submit your course descriptions where requested. Admission with requirements does not mean automatic admission for every holder of a bachelor’s degree. [1, 2, 7]

Foreign qualifications: recognition and country-specific grades

A relevant degree and the programme’s subject preparation are required together with recognition of the qualification. The Admissions and Welcome Unit decides whether your foreign award permits entry to this master’s programme. Its country table is reference guidance rather than an exhaustive list: applicants whose country is absent may still apply. The university evaluates the qualification, its level, length and grade; meeting a listed minimum does not itself constitute an admission offer. [2, 3]

Examples below use the Master’s degree column of the table updated on 15 September 2026 for 2027/28. They are requirements for the education system that awarded your qualification, rather than a single percentage applying to every applicant. [3]

  • India: a three- or four-year Honours bachelor’s degree; a four-, five- or five-and-a-half-year professional bachelor’s degree; or a three-year Pass/General bachelor’s degree plus a postgraduate bachelor’s degree or at least a one-year master’s degree. The listed minimums are 70/100, 7.0/10, 5.6/8 or 2.8/4, according to the grading scale. [3]
  • Pakistan: accepted routes include a two-year Bachelor (Pass) plus a two-year master’s degree; a two-year Bachelor (Pass) plus an LL.B.; a Bachelor (Pass) plus Bachelor of Education route of three years in total; a three-year Honours bachelor’s degree; or a four- or five-year professional bachelor’s degree. Minimum GPA: 3.3/4. [3]
  • Bangladesh: a four-year Honours bachelor’s degree or a four- or five-year professional bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 3.3/4. [3]
  • Iran: a four- or five-year bachelor’s degree, or a two-year associate degree followed by a two-year discontinuous bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 15/20. [3]
  • China: a bachelor’s degree certificate following a four-year undergraduate programme together with the graduation certificate and the specified CSSD verifications. The listed minimums are 75/100, 3.0/5 or 2.8/4. [3]
  • Nigeria: at least a four-year bachelor’s degree, or a two-year Higher National Diploma plus the last two years of a bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 3.5/5. [3]
  • Egypt: a four- or five-year BA, BSc or Licence, with minimum GPA 75/100 or 3.0/4. Other countries and qualification combinations are assessed under their own table entries and university recognition procedures. [2, 3]

English B2: accepted certificates and exemptions for foreign-degree applicants

The programme is taught in English and requires at least CEFR B2. For applicants using a foreign qualification, the current central policy allows the language certificate to be supplied after the application, but no later than 31 July 2027 for completion of enrolment. Certificates must be valid under the issuing body’s rules; where there is no expiry date, they must have been obtained within the two years preceding the opening of selection on 15 September 2026. [1, 4]

The current official B2 certificate list gives the following scores and qualifications. Higher-level certificates must meet the university’s corresponding C1 threshold where that level is relied upon. [5]

  • IELTS Academic or General Training: 6.0. The university includes IELTS Home based tests and accepts one-skill retakes. [5]
  • TOEFL iBT or Home Edition: 86 for tests taken up to 20 January 2026, or 4.5 on the new scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026. MyBest scores are accepted. [5]
  • Cambridge B2 First: 173; Trinity ISE II; Oxford Test of English: 126; PTE Academic: 65; Pearson International Certificate: Level 3 Upper Intermediate; Duolingo English Test: 115. [5]
  • Also listed: Gatehouse GA Level 1 ESOL International Classic B2; British Council Aptis ESOL General or Advanced with overall CEFR B2; and LanguageCert ESOL or Academic B2 Communicator covering four skills. Remote or online versions are accepted where the official list specifies them. [5]
  • A certificate exemption applies to native English speakers from the university’s specified countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Malta, New Zealand, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom and United States. [6]
  • An entirely English-medium entry or higher qualification can support exemption if the awarding institution is in one of those listed countries, an EU country or a Schengen country. An English-medium degree from any country is not a blanket exemption under this foreign-qualification policy. [6]
  • The list also exempts specified entry qualifications completed entirely in English: IBDP, European Baccalaureate, GCE or IGCE, and a High School Diploma accompanied by three US Advanced Placements with scores from 3 to 5. We supply evidence for the exact exemption you claim. An Italian language certificate is not required when applying to this English-taught programme. [6, 7]

Application documents and pending graduation

The application needs colour scans in PDF format: an English CV, an English motivation letter, your academic transcript, your qualifying degree award, a passport or an eligible identity document, and language evidence when required. Applicants who have not yet graduated may use an official enrolment or provisional certificate at application stage. For the 2027/28 foreign-qualification route, the study cycle must be completed by 31 July 2027; an official completion certificate may evidence that completion while the final diploma is being issued. [2, 7]

Provide English or Italian translations of the transcript and degree documents when necessary. No legalised documents are required at initial application stage. A residence permit is also required for non-EU applicants residing in Italy. We include any further programme-specific documents requested in your application checklist; the public listing does not establish a universal requirement for two recommendation letters or a fixed interview duration. [1, 7]

We use one applicant account and submit every required field and attachment. The central guidance permits applications to up to two programmes; the course listing allows only one application to the same programme in an academic year. Pay the non-refundable €60 application fee. Initial administrative checks are followed by an Academic Committee evaluation, so satisfying minimum requirements still requires a positive assessment. [1, 7]

Application calls: foreign qualifications, 2027/28

  • Call One: 15 September to 15 November 2026, with the listing’s deadline at 23:59:59 Central European Time. Studies are listed to commence on 1 October 2027. [1]
  • Call Two: 1 December 2026 to 1 March 2027. [1]
  • Call Three: 1 April to 1 June 2027, only for EU applicants and non-EU applicants residing in Italy in an eligible category. We choose your correct portal category and apply only once to the same programme in an academic year. [1, 7]

After an offer: acceptance and final enrolment

Accept an offered place by the deadline in the offer and pay the listed non-refundable €208 acceptance/enrolment amount. Final enrolment requires the original qualifying degree and transcript, translated into Italian or English and authenticated through the applicable procedure. The transcript should identify examinations, grades and, where possible, credits and the course syllabus. CIMEA comparability may be requested if the Admissions and Welcome Unit needs further qualification verification. [1, 7, 8]

Authentication normally uses legalisation or an apostille; the university also describes CIMEA Verification as an alternative and lists treaty-based exceptions. These are final-enrolment requirements, distinct from the initial application. Non-EU students residing abroad additionally complete Universitaly pre-enrolment and the study-visa process. We follow the intake-specific instructions and offer deadlines; the standing enrolment webpage contains older cycle references, so its unqualified calendar dates are not presented here as confirmed 2027/28 deadlines. [8]

Separate route: a qualifying degree obtained in Italy, 2026/27

The currently published School of Science call is reserved for qualifications obtained in Italy and refers foreign-degree holders to international procedures. Its Annex 1 states the following curricular and personal-preparation conditions for this course. [9]

The currently published Italian-degree Annex 1 lists the eligible degree classes and grade condition without a further universal numerical subject-credit minimum for this course. Academic suitability is still assessed. [9]

For the separate 2026/27 route using a qualification obtained in Italy, Annex 2 requires language evidence with the curricular-assessment application. Its alternatives include an accepted certificate dated from 1 January 2021, specified native-speaker citizenship, a degree entirely taught in English with official evidence, at least 30 examination credits taught in English and taken or recognised within an Italian university career, a qualifying Italian university language-centre certificate/open badge, or the reserved Padua TAL B2 reading-and-listening test. These alternatives belong to that Italian-degree call and do not replace the current foreign-qualification certificate policy. [9]

  • The Italian-degree call accepts classes L-2, L-7, L-8, L-9, L-13, L-27, L-30, L-31, L-32, L-35 or L-41, or former classes 1, 8, 9, 10, 12, 21, 25, 26, 27, 32 or 37. Older Italian qualification systems are assessed by the admission committee. [9]
  • The qualifying degree mark must be at least 95/110 or equivalent and English at least B2 for this Italian-degree call. These conditions accompany the stated academic route. [9]
  • For the 2026/27 Italian-degree route, pre-enrol through Uniweb by 29 January 2027 at noon, submit the curricular-assessment application by 29 January 2027 at 15:00, and complete the qualifying degree by that date. Enrolment closes on 15 February 2027. [9]
  • The Italian-degree pre-enrolment fee is €30. Transfer and course-change routes have earlier deadlines and separate procedures. [9]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Padua, Apply Unipd: Quantitative and Computational Biosciences, 2027/28 intake; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Padua, Specific entry requirements for qualifications awarded by non-Italian education systems, current 2027/28 guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Padua, Specific entry requirements for qualifications awarded by non-Italian education systems, updated 15 September 2026, valid for 2027/28, Master’s degree column.
  4. University of Padua, Language requirement for admission to degree programmes, 2027/28 foreign-qualification guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Padua, English language certifications, currently linked official list; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not printed in the document.
  6. University of Padua, Exemptions: English language certification, currently linked official list; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not printed in the document.
  7. University of Padua, Study in English: How to apply, standing application guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  8. University of Padua, Study in English: How to enrol, standing enrolment guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  9. University of Padua, School of Science open-access master’s programmes, 2026/27 call reserved for holders of qualifications obtained in Italy, Annexes 1 and 2 and deadline summary.
  10. University of Padua, Quantitative and Computational Biosciences: departmental admission/enrolment guidance, standing webpage; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not stated.

About the programme

Quantitative and Computational Biosciences is a two-year master's degree in class LM-6-R (Biology), taught in English at the University of Padua.

It is offered by the Department of Biology within the School of Science, carries 120 ECTS and has open admission with requirements.

The university lists its teaching mode as blended, and the admissions portal gives Padua as the study location.

The degree starts from a practical problem: every branch of biology now produces more data than it can analyse.

It combines courses in biology with mathematics, physics and statistics, and brings students from different STEM backgrounds together around big data in omics, evolutionary biology, ecology and physiology.

It suits biologists who want strong computing skills, and graduates in physics, mathematics, engineering or informatics who want to work on biological questions.

What you will study

The first year builds a shared toolkit, with bridging courses that depend on your background: biology graduates take General Mathematics and Statistics and R, while graduates from other fields take Introduction to Molecular and Cellular Biology and Introduction to Ecology.

First-year units taken by everyone include:

  • Informatics and Python
  • Next Generation Sequencing
  • Machine Learning and Neural Networks
  • Advanced Statistics and Data Analysis
  • Systems Biology and Quantitative Imaging
  • Computational Human Evolution
  • Sensors, Measurement Errors and Data Management
  • Big Data: an Ethical and Economical Perspective

How the programme is taught

The second year adds Complex Systems and Agent-based Simulations, Nature in Context and Metagenomics, then leaves room for elective courses, a research internship and the thesis.

Because the course is delivered in blended mode, we find out from the degree office which activities are held online and what attendance in Padua is expected before you plan your move.

Career paths

The university prepares graduates to build and apply analytical methods for biological data, in private companies or public bodies, in Italy and abroad. The roles it names are:

  • Bioinformatician
  • Data scientist in the biological sciences
  • Big data and complex systems analyst
  • Developer of new analytical methods in biology

Fees and scholarships

As a School of Science degree, the course follows the Group B fee.

Non-EU students whose household is abroad pay a fixed €2,990 a year under the 2026/27 fee call, or €996.66 if they are citizens of a country on the ministry's list of particularly poor countries.

An ISEE parificato lowers only the regional tax.

The Veneto regional scholarship exempts winners from the fee, so this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students, and the university also grants merit fee waivers to international applicants to English-taught degrees.

How to apply from outside the EU

Applications go through the programme’s official Apply Unipd listing. Your relevant degree, subject preparation and English B2 evidence are assessed alongside the required documents. The detailed requirements section gives the current calls, recognition rules and final enrolment stages. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8]

Compare related master's programmes

If you are exploring computational biosciences, compare the curriculum and entry requirements on these programme pages before choosing your shortlist.

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Padua's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your Apply Unipd application, offer acceptance and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your University of Padua DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Can a non-biology STEM graduate apply?

Yes. The published foreign-degree backgrounds include chemistry, physics, mathematics, informatics, statistics and engineering as well as biology and biotechnology. The department also states at least 95/110 or a converted equivalent, English B2 and qualification requirements.

What grade requirement should I check?

The department states at least 95/110 or an equivalent grade, alongside programme preparation and country-specific foreign-qualification requirements.

What English evidence is accepted?

English B2. Current foreign-qualification examples include IELTS 6.0, PTE Academic 65 and Duolingo 115. TOEFL requires 86 on the old scale or 4.5 from 21 January 2026. We check your certificate against the official list or document an accepted exemption.

Can I apply before graduation?

Yes, the foreign-qualification route accepts an official provisional or enrolment certificate at application stage. For 2027/28 you must complete the qualifying cycle by 31 July 2027. The 2026/27 Italian-degree route has separately stated deadlines.

When is the next international application window?

For 2027/28, the published calls are 15 September to 15 November 2026 and 1 December 2026 to 1 March 2027. A third call, 1 April to 1 June 2027, is only for EU applicants and eligible non-EU residents in Italy.

Do I need legalised documents to apply?

Not at initial application stage. The application needs PDF scans and English or Italian translations. If admitted, your degree and transcript go through final verification and authentication by legalisation, apostille, CIMEA Verification or an applicable exception.

Can someone handle my whole application to Quantitative and Computational Biosciences at Padua?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Padua's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the University of Padua DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Quantitative and Computational Biosciences?

Your degree must be in biology, biotechnology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, informatics, statistics or engineering, with English at B2 [1]. Padua lists Indian Honours or professional bachelor's degrees, or a three-year Pass bachelor's plus a postgraduate degree, with at least 70/100 or 7.0/10 [3]. The department also states 95/110 or equivalent [10]. The steps are the Apply Unipd application, offer acceptance and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Quantitative and Computational Biosciences are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: the Apply Unipd application, Academic Committee evaluation, offer acceptance and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Quantitative and Computational Biosciences are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: the Apply Unipd application, Academic Committee evaluation, offer acceptance and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I'm applying from the UK, US, Canada, Singapore or Malaysia. Is anything different?

The academic rules are identical. Non-EU applicants who live abroad, including citizens of these countries, follow the same route: the Apply Unipd application, Academic Committee evaluation, offer acceptance and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa. Read our guides for London, New York, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 25, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility