Master in Environmental Sustainability and Education at University of Padua

Padua natural sciences master with an English-taught Sustainable Environment curriculum on environmental monitoring and management, from wildlife monitoring and biogeography to remote sensing and environmental assessment.

Master

2 years

Padua

Multiple

University of Padua

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
University of Padua
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Padova

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

Taught in English and Italian

This programme is taught in both English and Italian. For more information, check your general eligibility for Italian public universities, and if you are eligible, book a consultation with one of ApplyAZ's Italy expert consultants.

University campus
Offered by
University of Padua
Public university · Veneto · Founded 1222
View university →
In short

Environmental Sustainability and Education is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-60-R) at the University of Padua whose Sustainable Environment curriculum and common courses are taught in English; a second curriculum is in Italian. Non-EU students with family abroad pay a fixed €2,990 a year (2026/27), waived for regional scholarship winners.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-60-R
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
Multiple
Intake
2027/28, October intake
Entrance test
Qualification, curricular and personal-preparation assessment by the university. Foreign qualifications use Apply Unipd and country recognition rules; Italian-degree holders follow the separate Uniweb call. Programme-specific grades and subjects are detailed on this page. The public listing does not state a universal written test or fixed interview duration.
Language requirement
English B2. Foreign qualifications: IELTS 6.0; TOEFL iBT/Home 86 before 21 January 2026 or 4.5 thereafter; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo 115; other listed certificates or specified exemptions. Evidence due by 31 July 2027 for the 2027/28 route. Italian-degree applicants follow their own Annex 2. Sustainable Environment is taught in English; Teaching and Communication is taught in Italian and can additionally require Italian B2 or an accepted exemption for foreign qualifications.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Environmental Sustainability and Education has open admission for applicants who meet its qualification, subject-preparation, grade and language requirements. The latest foreign-qualification listing is for 2027/28, while the separate Italian-degree call is for 2026/27. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026.

Relevant degree, subject knowledge and programme-specific grade assessment

A minimum three-year undergraduate degree, or equivalent, in a relevant discipline, with a solid background in mathematics, physics and chemistry, and in either biological sciences or geosciences. [1]

The department states an eligible bachelor’s degree obtained in Italy or abroad, a degree mark of at least 85/110 or equivalent, suitable scientific/environmental preparation and English B2 reading and listening. Graduates in biology, geology and related subjects may qualify following verification of the curriculum. The central foreign-qualification route additionally checks country-specific awards and grades. [3, 10]

The university evaluates your transcript and academic suitability in addition to whether your award permits access to a master’s degree. We provide course descriptions where requested. Admission with requirements does not mean automatic admission for every holder of a bachelor’s degree. [1, 2, 7]

Choose the teaching-language pathway

The department’s presentation says the common courses are delivered in English. Sustainable Environment is taught in English, while Teaching and Communication is taught in Italian. The public international programme listing reviewed here is the English-taught route. [1, 11]

For the Italian-taught pathway, applicants with foreign qualifications must additionally meet the university’s Italian-language policy, normally B2 or an accepted exemption, and we confirm the appropriate application route. The English application listing does not by itself remove the Italian requirements for the Teaching and Communication pathway. [4, 11]

Foreign qualifications: recognition and country-specific grades

A relevant degree and the programme’s subject preparation are required together with recognition of the qualification. The Admissions and Welcome Unit decides whether your foreign award permits entry to this master’s programme. Its country table is reference guidance rather than an exhaustive list: applicants whose country is absent may still apply. The university evaluates the qualification, its level, length and grade; meeting a listed minimum does not itself constitute an admission offer. [2, 3]

Examples below use the Master’s degree column of the table updated on 15 September 2026 for 2027/28. They are requirements for the education system that awarded your qualification, rather than a single percentage applying to every applicant. [3]

  • India: a three- or four-year Honours bachelor’s degree; a four-, five- or five-and-a-half-year professional bachelor’s degree; or a three-year Pass/General bachelor’s degree plus a postgraduate bachelor’s degree or at least a one-year master’s degree. The listed minimums are 70/100, 7.0/10, 5.6/8 or 2.8/4, according to the grading scale. [3]
  • Pakistan: accepted routes include a two-year Bachelor (Pass) plus a two-year master’s degree; a two-year Bachelor (Pass) plus an LL.B.; a Bachelor (Pass) plus Bachelor of Education route of three years in total; a three-year Honours bachelor’s degree; or a four- or five-year professional bachelor’s degree. Minimum GPA: 3.3/4. [3]
  • Bangladesh: a four-year Honours bachelor’s degree or a four- or five-year professional bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 3.3/4. [3]
  • Iran: a four- or five-year bachelor’s degree, or a two-year associate degree followed by a two-year discontinuous bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 15/20. [3]
  • China: a bachelor’s degree certificate following a four-year undergraduate programme together with the graduation certificate and the specified CSSD verifications. The listed minimums are 75/100, 3.0/5 or 2.8/4. [3]
  • Nigeria: at least a four-year bachelor’s degree, or a two-year Higher National Diploma plus the last two years of a bachelor’s degree, with minimum GPA 3.5/5. [3]
  • Egypt: a four- or five-year BA, BSc or Licence, with minimum GPA 75/100 or 3.0/4. Other countries and qualification combinations are assessed under their own table entries and university recognition procedures. [2, 3]

English B2: accepted certificates and exemptions for foreign-degree applicants

The programme is taught in English and requires at least CEFR B2. For applicants using a foreign qualification, the current central policy allows the language certificate to be supplied after the application, but no later than 31 July 2027 for completion of enrolment. Certificates must be valid under the issuing body’s rules; where there is no expiry date, they must have been obtained within the two years preceding the opening of selection on 15 September 2026. [1, 4]

The current official B2 certificate list gives the following scores and qualifications. Higher-level certificates must meet the university’s corresponding C1 threshold where that level is relied upon. [5]

  • IELTS Academic or General Training: 6.0. The university includes IELTS Home based tests and accepts one-skill retakes. [5]
  • TOEFL iBT or Home Edition: 86 for tests taken up to 20 January 2026, or 4.5 on the new scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026. MyBest scores are accepted. [5]
  • Cambridge B2 First: 173; Trinity ISE II; Oxford Test of English: 126; PTE Academic: 65; Pearson International Certificate: Level 3 Upper Intermediate; Duolingo English Test: 115. [5]
  • Also listed: Gatehouse GA Level 1 ESOL International Classic B2; British Council Aptis ESOL General or Advanced with overall CEFR B2; and LanguageCert ESOL or Academic B2 Communicator covering four skills. Remote or online versions are accepted where the official list specifies them. [5]
  • A certificate exemption applies to native English speakers from the university’s specified countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Malta, New Zealand, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom and United States. [6]
  • An entirely English-medium entry or higher qualification can support exemption if the awarding institution is in one of those listed countries, an EU country or a Schengen country. An English-medium degree from any country is not a blanket exemption under this foreign-qualification policy. [6]
  • The list also exempts specified entry qualifications completed entirely in English: IBDP, European Baccalaureate, GCE or IGCE, and a High School Diploma accompanied by three US Advanced Placements with scores from 3 to 5. We supply evidence for the exact exemption claimed. An Italian language certificate is not required when applying to this English-taught programme. [6, 7]

Application calls: foreign qualifications, 2027/28

  • Call One: 15 September to 15 November 2026, with the listing’s deadline at 23:59:59 Central European Time. Studies are listed to commence on 1 October 2027. [1]
  • Call Two: 1 December 2026 to 1 March 2027. [1]
  • Call Three: 1 April to 1 June 2027, only for EU applicants and non-EU applicants residing in Italy in an eligible category. We select your correct portal category. Only one application to the same programme is allowed in an academic year. [1, 7]

Application documents and pending graduation

The application needs colour scans in PDF format: an English CV, an English motivation letter, your academic transcript, your qualifying degree award, a passport or an eligible identity document, and language evidence when required. Applicants who have not yet graduated may use an official enrolment or provisional certificate at application stage. For the 2027/28 foreign-qualification route, the study cycle must be completed by 31 July 2027; an official completion certificate may evidence that completion while the final diploma is being issued. [2, 7]

English or Italian translations of the transcript and degree documents are added when necessary. No legalised documents are required at initial application stage. A residence permit is also required for non-EU applicants residing in Italy. We include any further programme-specific documents requested in your application checklist. The public listing does not establish a universal requirement for two recommendation letters or a fixed interview duration. [1, 7]

We use one applicant account and submit every required field and attachment. The central guidance permits applications to up to two programmes; the course listing allows only one application to the same programme in an academic year. The non-refundable application fee is €60. Initial administrative checks are followed by an Academic Committee evaluation, so satisfying minimum requirements still requires a positive assessment. [1, 7]

After an offer: acceptance and final enrolment

An offered place is accepted by the deadline in the offer, with the listed non-refundable €208 acceptance/enrolment payment. Final enrolment requires the original qualifying degree and transcript, translated into Italian or English and authenticated through the applicable procedure. The transcript should identify examinations, grades and, where possible, credits and the course syllabus. CIMEA comparability may be requested if the Admissions and Welcome Unit needs further qualification verification. [1, 7, 8]

Authentication normally uses legalisation or an apostille; the university also describes CIMEA Verification as an alternative and lists treaty-based exceptions. These are final-enrolment requirements, distinct from the initial application. Non-EU students residing abroad additionally complete Universitaly pre-enrolment and the study-visa process. We follow the intake-specific instructions and offer deadlines. The standing enrolment webpage contains older cycle references, so its unqualified calendar dates are not presented here as confirmed 2027/28 deadlines. [8]

Separate route: a qualifying degree obtained in Italy, 2026/27

The currently published School of Science call is reserved for qualifications obtained in Italy and refers foreign-degree holders to international procedures. Its Annex 1 states the following curricular and personal-preparation conditions for this course. [9]

Direct curricular access for class L-32 does not waive recognition, personal-preparation, grade, language or administrative requirements. Other backgrounds must demonstrate the 50-credit scientific and life/earth-science preparation or an accepted equivalent as assessed by the university. [9, 10]

For the separate 2026/27 route using a qualification obtained in Italy, Annex 2 requires language evidence with the curricular-assessment application. Its alternatives include an accepted certificate dated from 1 January 2021, specified native-speaker citizenship, a degree entirely taught in English with official evidence, at least 30 examination credits taught in English and taken or recognised within an Italian university career, a qualifying Italian university language-centre certificate/open badge, or the reserved Padua TAL B2 reading-and-listening test. These alternatives belong to that Italian-degree call and do not replace the current foreign-qualification certificate policy. [9]

  • An Italian L-32 degree, or former class 27, satisfies the degree-class route. Other classes require at least 50 CFU: at least 15 in INF/01, MAT/01-09, FIS/01-08, CHIM/03 and CHIM/06, and at least 35 in BIO/01-07, BIO/09, BIO/10, BIO/18, GEO/01-04 and GEO/06-08. [9]
  • The qualifying degree mark must be at least 85/110 or equivalent and English at least B2 for this Italian-degree call. These conditions accompany the stated academic route. [9]
  • For the 2026/27 Italian-degree route, pre-enrolment through Uniweb closes on 29 January 2027 at noon, the curricular-assessment application is due by 29 January 2027 at 15:00 and the qualifying degree must be completed by that date. Enrolment closes on 15 February 2027. [9]
  • The Italian-degree pre-enrolment fee is €30. Transfer and course-change routes have earlier deadlines and separate procedures. [9]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Padua, Apply Unipd: Environmental Sustainability and Education, 2027/28 intake; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Padua, Specific entry requirements for qualifications awarded by non-Italian education systems, current 2027/28 guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Padua, Specific entry requirements for qualifications awarded by non-Italian education systems, updated 15 September 2026, valid for 2027/28, Master’s degree column.
  4. University of Padua, Language requirement for admission to degree programmes, 2027/28 foreign-qualification guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Padua, English language certifications, currently linked official list; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not printed in the document.
  6. University of Padua, Exemptions: English language certification, currently linked official list; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not printed in the document.
  7. University of Padua, Study in English: How to apply, standing application guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  8. University of Padua, Study in English: How to enrol, standing enrolment guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  9. University of Padua, School of Science open-access master’s programmes, 2026/27 call reserved for holders of qualifications obtained in Italy, Annexes 1 and 2 and deadline summary.
  10. University of Padua, Environmental Sustainability and Education: departmental admission/enrolment guidance, standing webpage; reviewed 6 October 2026. Publication date is not stated.
  11. University of Padua, Environmental Sustainability and Education: departmental programme presentation, standing webpage; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Environmental Sustainability and Education is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree in class LM-60-R (Natural Sciences), run by the Department of Biology within the School of Science in Padua, with open admission for applicants who meet the requirements.

It trains professionals who can understand, monitor and manage natural systems in a context of rapid global change, and communicate environmental topics to different audiences.

The degree is taught in Italian and English. All students start with a set of common courses delivered in English, then follow one of two curricula: Sustainable Environment, taught in English, or Teaching and Communication, taught in Italian.

Sustainable Environment is the fully English path. It focuses on environmental monitoring and management, with modern survey techniques for fauna, flora, geology and geomorphology, including remote sensing. It suits graduates in biology, natural sciences or geosciences.

What you will study

The course integrates biology and geology with quantitative methods. Units listed on the admissions portal for the English path include:

  • Applied Ecology and Ecosystem Services
  • Past Climate and Climate Change
  • Environmental Biogeography
  • Georesources and Geoheritage in the Anthropocene
  • Ethics and Environmental Economics
  • Applied Statistics for Natural Sciences, and Methods for Wildlife Monitoring
  • Remote Sensing of Environment (second year)
  • Conservation, Restoration and Remediation, and Environmental Assessment and Evaluation (second year)

How the programme is taught

Teaching combines lectures, laboratory and field activities and innovative methods, with attention to experimental techniques and direct field experience. The second year adds elective courses, an internship and the thesis.

Career paths

The university lists careers in private companies, public agencies, NGOs and research institutions, and says the degree is also a good foundation for PhD programmes. The fields it names are:

  • Environmental consulting
  • Biodiversity conservation
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Environmental impact assessment
  • Sustainability

Fees and scholarships

This School of Science degree is in fee Group B.

Under the 2026/27 fee call, non-EU students whose household is abroad pay a fixed €2,990 a year, cut to €996.66 for citizens of countries on the ministry's list of particularly poor countries.

The ISEE parificato lowers only the regional tax. Veneto regional scholarship winners are exempt from the fee, so this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students; the scholarship is administered by the University of Padua.

How to apply from outside the EU

Applications go through the programme’s official Apply Unipd listing. Your relevant degree, subject preparation and English B2 evidence are assessed alongside the required documents. The detailed requirements section gives the current calls, recognition rules and final enrolment stages. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Padua's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your Apply Unipd application, supporting documents and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your University of Padua DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Is the entire degree taught in English?

The common courses are in English. Sustainable Environment is the English-taught curriculum, while Teaching and Communication is taught in Italian. The international listing requires English B2, and the Italian curriculum can additionally require Italian B2 for foreign qualifications. [1][4][11]

I have a B.Sc. in biology, zoology or geology. Can I apply?

You need a relevant degree with a solid background in mathematics, physics and chemistry, and in either biological sciences or geosciences. The department says graduates in biology, geology and related subjects may qualify after verification of the curriculum. We map your transcript against these subject areas before you apply. [1][10]

What grade requirement applies?

The department states a degree mark of at least 85/110 or equivalent. Foreign qualifications also follow the country table, which for India lists minimums such as 70/100 or 7.0/10, alongside the programme's academic assessment. [3][10]

What English evidence is accepted?

English B2. Current foreign-qualification examples include IELTS 6.0, PTE Academic 65 and Duolingo 115. TOEFL requires 86 on the old scale or 4.5 for tests from 21 January 2026. We match your certificate to the official list or document an accepted exemption. [5][6]

Can I apply before graduation?

Yes. The foreign-qualification route accepts an official provisional or enrolment certificate at application stage. For 2027/28 you must complete the qualifying study cycle by 31 July 2027. The 2026/27 Italian-degree route has separate deadlines. [2][7]

When is the next international application window?

For 2027/28, the calls run from 15 September to 15 November 2026 and from 1 December 2026 to 1 March 2027. A third call, 1 April to 1 June 2027, is only for EU applicants and eligible non-EU residents in Italy. [1]

Do I need legalised documents to apply?

Not at the initial application stage. The application uses PDF scans and English or Italian translations where needed. If you are admitted, your degree and transcript are authenticated for final enrolment through legalisation, apostille, CIMEA Verification or an applicable exception. [7][8]

Can someone handle my whole application to Environmental Sustainability and Education at Padua?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Padua's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the University of Padua DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Environmental Sustainability and Education?

You need at least a three-year degree, or equivalent, in a relevant discipline, with a solid background in mathematics, physics and chemistry and in either biological sciences or geosciences, plus English at B2 [1]. For India, the university lists Honours, professional or Pass-plus-further-study bachelor's routes, with minimums such as 70/100 or 7.0/10 [3]. The steps are an Apply Unipd application, an Academic Committee evaluation and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Environmental Sustainability and Education are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: an Apply Unipd application, an Academic Committee evaluation and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Environmental Sustainability and Education are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: an Apply Unipd application, an Academic Committee evaluation and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I'm applying from the UK, US, Canada, Singapore or Malaysia. Is anything different?

The academic rules are identical. Non-EU applicants who live abroad, including citizens of these countries, follow the same route: an Apply Unipd application, an Academic Committee evaluation and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa. Read our guides for London, New York, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 25, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility