Master in Chemistry at University of Trieste

Two-year LM-54R chemistry master's at the University of Trieste, taught partly in English, with curricula in analytical and environmental chemistry, nanomaterials and energy, and biomolecular and synthetic organic chemistry. Entry needs L-27 or 20 plus 55 subject credits, laboratory skills and English B2.

Master

2 years

Trieste

Multiple

University of Trieste

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

Taught in English and Italian

This programme is taught in both English and Italian. For more information, check your general eligibility for Italian public universities, and if you are eligible, book a consultation with one of ApplyAZ's Italy expert consultants.

University campus
Offered by
University of Trieste
Public university · Friuli-Venezia Giulia · Founded 1924
View university →
In short

Chemistry is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-54R) taught partly in English at the University of Trieste. Entry needs an L-27 chemistry degree, or another bachelor's with at least 20 credits in maths, computing and physics and 55 in chemistry or biochemistry, plus laboratory skills and English at B2. Visa applicants also need Italian evidence because teaching is mixed.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-54R
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
Multiple
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
No written test. Curriculum review by the committee, with a possible individual interview; former class 25 or L-30 graduates with at least 88/110 are exempt from the review.
Language requirement
English B2 in writing and speaking, shown by academic evidence, an accepted certificate or the university test. Visa applicants also need Italian evidence (CLIQ B2 or CISIA Italian L2 at least 50/72) because teaching is partly in Italian.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Trieste Chemistry’s 2026/27 rules specify an alternative 20+55-credit background and practical laboratory skills. The official programme description states that teaching is partly in English. Conflicting wording on supplementary credits and language timing is identified below. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1-6]

Recognised degree and alternative credit matrix

Applicants need a bachelor’s/three-year university diploma or suitable recognised foreign award. The normal route is L-27 Chemical Sciences and Technologies. Other first-cycle graduates need at least 20 CFU in mathematics, computing and physics, and at least 55 CFU in chemistry/biochemistry, plus practical laboratory skills. The committee reviews actual examination content, credits and laboratory experience. [1, 2]

Required disciplinary groups

  • Foundation block, at least 20 CFU: PHYS-01 to PHYS-06, MATH-01 to MATH-06 and INFO-01/A; the webpage also supplies the legacy FIS/01 to /08, MAT/01 to /09 and INF/01 references. [1, 2]
  • Chemical/biochemical block, at least 55 CFU: CHEM-01 to CHEM-08 and BIOS-07/A, with legacy CHIM/01 to /12 and BIO/10 references. These 55 credits are additional to the 20 foundation credits. Practical laboratory competence is separately required. [1, 2]

Preparation review and the specifically printed 88/110 route

The committee assesses the curriculum and may require an individual interview to verify foundation knowledge and understanding. The current page and regulation print an exemption for former class 25 / L-30 degrees with at least 88/110. Those class labels refer to physical-science qualifications, while the normal chemistry route above is L-27. The 88/110 exemption is printed only for these classes and does not extend to every chemistry graduate. We confirm with the committee which assessment applies to your file. [1, 2]

The current listed interview dates are 6 July, 1 September and 23 November 2026 and 8 February 2027; the latter two remain future dates at review. Interview dates do not reopen the closed international qualification-assessment rounds. The grade threshold is an assessment exemption, rather than a universal minimum GPA. [1, 2]

Supplementary examinations: a material source conflict

The course webpage says applicants with strong preparation but incomplete requirements must take the prescribed L-27 examinations before access. Article 3(3) of the current regulation instead describes admission with a curricular debt consisting of committee-prescribed bachelor-level exams; the page’s interview note also mentions a personalised plan with added examinations. Because the timing differs materially, we do not plan on enrolling first with missing credits. We get the committee’s written instructions on the missing examinations and whether they must be completed before registration. [1, 2]

English B2 and language-timing conflict

Written and spoken English must be at least B2. Current Article 3 makes it part of personal-preparation evaluation, using academic curriculum evidence, an accepted external certificate or the university test. The course webpage mentions the accepted AICLU list and university-attested language level, but also says uncertified competence can be acquired after enrolment through CLA. This later-acquisition wording does not override the current regulation’s admission assessment or the visa-language conditions. We confirm the accepted route before you register without B2 evidence. [1, 2, 5]

Partly English teaching and separate TCCM pathway

The official description says the course is partly taught in English. Its ordinary curricula are Analytical and Environment; Nanomaterials, Energy and Modelling; and Biomolecular and Synthetic Organic Chemistry. The separate European Theoretical Chemistry and Computational Modelling pathway has its own plan and international components. That pathway does not mean every ordinary Chemistry student follows a fully English degree. [6]

Teaching language and additional visa-route Italian evidence

English B2 as an academic prerequisite does not mean every module is English-taught. The central visa rules require Italian evidence for a degree taught in Italian or both Italian and English. Accepted routes include the stated eligible international-school qualification, CLIQ-system B2-or-higher certification such as CELI/CILS/PLIDA, or at least 50/72 on the CISIA Italian L2 test organised by other universities. Applicants needing a visa must meet the teaching-route language conditions as well as the course’s English requirement. [5]

Course clearance and complete Esse3 file

The course procedure starts with registration for its preparation-assessment competition in Esse3. The upload includes valid identity evidence, the prescribed degree/examination self-declaration for the applicable Italian record, the course’s Excel self-assessment questionnaire and language evidence. Foreign applicants also submit the official records required for qualification evaluation; an Italian self-declaration does not replace foreign evidence that the office requires. Final enrolment follows the admissions office’s email confirming the outcome. [2-4]

Final enrolment includes the course’s supplementary form, identity document where required, Italian fiscal-code evidence, a compliant JPEG identity photograph and applicable language/immigration documents. Non-EU applicants supply the residence permit or application receipt as instructed. Pay the first instalment and complete the final confirmation. Pending-degree candidates can begin the stated conditional procedure and attend teaching, but the enrolment/student number is finalised only after the degree and complete documentation are supplied. [2]

2026/27 ordinary dates versus international rounds

The current course page lists preparation-evaluation requests from 20 April 2026 to 29 January 2027 and final enrolment from 20 April 2026 to the strict limit of 31 March 2027. These are ordinary course dates. They do not replace the earlier foreign-qualification assessment periods, and a visa applicant cannot rely on starting a new file in March. [2, 3]

The central international page, updated 2 October 2026, gives assessment rounds of 15 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 and 15 February to 30 April 2026, followed by a round restricted to EU/EU-equivalent applicants ending 2 October 2026. All listed international rounds have passed as of this review. The assessment charge is €40 and covers up to three programme applications. No new 2027/28 intake date is established in these sources. [3]

Foreign-degree documents, translation and recognition

The qualifying foreign first-cycle award must grant access to comparable postgraduate study in its home system. Supply the degree, official transcript with grades and credit/hour information, and university-issued course descriptions. An EU-issued degree should be accompanied by its Diploma Supplement; a complete supplement can replace a separate transcript. Internet printouts are not accepted as official course descriptions. [4]

Documents issued outside Italian/English need translation into one of those languages. The central page requires legalisation/apostille with its named country exemptions and delivery of originals according to office instructions. It says a Declaration of Value is not routinely necessary; CIMEA comparability may be requested in special cases. Qualification correspondence and the programme’s actual subject-credit evaluation are separate checks. For open-access programmes, complete the required records before enrolment. [4]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Trieste, Chemistry Teaching Regulations, cohort 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Trieste, Chemistry Come iscriversi, 2026/27; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Trieste, Degree Seekers and International Students, updated 2 October 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Trieste, Required documents for international degree seekers, updated 24 July 2025; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Trieste, International students language proficiency assessment, updated 3 December 2025; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  6. University of Trieste, Chemistry Il corso, current programme description; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Chemistry is a two-year master's degree (laurea magistrale, class LM-54R) at the University of Trieste. The university describes the course as partly taught in English, so some units are taught in Italian. [6]

The degree suits graduates in chemistry, or in another science with a strong chemistry and laboratory background. Entry rests on an L-27 chemistry degree or a set block of subject credits, plus practical laboratory skills and English at B2. [1][2]

What you will study

The ordinary programme has three curricula: [6]

  • Analytical and Environment
  • Nanomaterials, Energy and Modelling
  • Biomolecular and Synthetic Organic Chemistry

A separate European pathway in Theoretical Chemistry and Computational Modelling (TCCM) has its own study plan and international components, distinct from the three ordinary curricula. [6]

The entry rules show the foundation the course builds on: at least 20 credits in mathematics, computing and physics, at least 55 in chemistry and biochemistry, and hands-on laboratory work. [1][2]

How the programme is taught

Teaching runs over two years in Trieste and mixes English and Italian, so we check the teaching language of each unit in the curriculum you choose. [6]

Because teaching is partly in Italian, the university's visa rules ask non-EU applicants for Italian evidence as well as English at B2. Accepted routes are an eligible international-school qualification, a CLIQ certificate at B2 or above such as CELI, CILS or PLIDA, or at least 50/72 on the CISIA Italian L2 test. [5]

Fees and scholarships

The University of Trieste charges €40 for the international qualification assessment, and one payment covers up to three programme applications. [3] Enrolment is completed by paying the first fee instalment. [2]

Eligible students can apply for the ARDiS regional scholarship for Friuli Venezia Giulia, and the region decides awards. This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students.

How to apply from outside the EU

Non-EU applicants first need the university's qualification assessment. For 2026/27, the international rounds ran from 15 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 and from 15 February to 30 April 2026, and a later round to 2 October 2026 was open only to EU and equivalent applicants. The 2027/28 dates are not yet published. [3]

The course's own preparation review runs through Esse3. For 2026/27, requests ran from 20 April 2026 to 29 January 2027, with interviews listed on 6 July, 1 September and 23 November 2026 and 8 February 2027. These course dates do not reopen the international assessment rounds. [1][2]

The file includes your degree, an official transcript with grades and credit or hour information, and university-issued course descriptions. Documents not in Italian or English need translation, and legalisation or an apostille applies except for named countries. A declaration of value is not routinely needed, though CIMEA comparability may be requested in special cases. [4]

Visa applicants complete Universitaly pre-enrolment and apply for a type D study visa. Final enrolment then needs the Italian fiscal code, a photograph, the residence permit or its application receipt, and the first fee instalment. Candidates still finishing their degree can start a conditional procedure, and enrolment is finalised once the degree is supplied. [2]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Trieste's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your qualification assessment request, Esse3 preparation review and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your ARDiS scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

What degree do I need for the Chemistry master at Trieste?

An L-27 degree in Chemical Sciences and Technologies, or a recognised foreign equivalent, is the normal route. Other bachelor's graduates need at least 20 credits in maths, computing and physics, at least 55 in chemistry or biochemistry, and practical laboratory skills. [1][2]

Is there an entrance test?

No written test. The committee reviews your curriculum and may hold an individual interview on foundation knowledge. For 2026/27, interviews were listed on 6 July, 1 September and 23 November 2026 and 8 February 2027. The printed exemption covers former class 25 or L-30 graduates with at least 88/110. [1][2]

What English level is required? Do I need IELTS?

English at B2 in writing and speaking. It is assessed from your academic record, an accepted external certificate from the university's list or the university test. The sources do not set IELTS scores, so we check which proof of B2 your file can use. [1][2]

Is the programme taught in English?

Partly. The university describes Chemistry as partly taught in English, so it is not a fully English degree. Because teaching mixes Italian and English, visa applicants also need Italian evidence, such as a CLIQ certificate at B2 or at least 50/72 on the CISIA Italian L2 test. [5][6]

When is the deadline for non-EU students?

For 2026/27, the international qualification-assessment rounds ran from 15 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 and from 15 February to 30 April 2026. A later round was for EU and equivalent applicants only. The 2027/28 dates are not yet published. [3]

Can I apply before I graduate?

Yes. Candidates still finishing their degree can start the conditional procedure and attend teaching, but the enrolment and student number are finalised only once the degree and complete documents are supplied. [2]

I have a B.Sc. in Chemistry or a B.Tech in Chemical Engineering. Can I apply?

Possibly. A B.Sc. with Chemistry as a main subject often covers the 55 chemistry credits, while the 20 credits in maths, computing and physics need checking. A Chemical Engineering B.Tech can fall short on chemistry or biochemistry credits. If credits are missing, we confirm with the committee which exams you need and when. [1][2]

Can someone handle my whole application to Chemistry at Trieste?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Trieste's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the ARDiS scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Chemistry?

An Indian B.Sc. with Chemistry as a main subject sits closest to the L-27 route. Other degrees need at least 20 credits in maths, computing and physics, 55 in chemistry or biochemistry, and laboratory skills. [1][2] You need English at B2 and, as a visa applicant, Italian evidence such as CLIQ B2. [5] The steps are the qualification assessment, the course's preparation review and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Chemistry are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: qualification assessment, the course's preparation review and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Chemistry are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: qualification assessment, the course's preparation review and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I'm applying from the UK, US, Canada, Singapore or Malaysia. Is anything different?

The academic rules are identical. Non-EU applicants who live abroad, including citizens of these countries, follow the same route: qualification assessment, the course's preparation review and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa. Read our guides for London, New York, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
October 6, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility