Master in Public and Health Economics at University of Molise

Two-year English-taught LM-56 master's at the University of Molise in Campobasso, combining public and health economics, econometrics and machine learning, health law and a mandatory internship.

Master

2 years

Campobasso

English

University of Molise

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Molise
Public university · Molise · Founded 1982
View university →
In short

Public and Health Economics is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-56) taught entirely in English by the Department of Economics of the University of Molise in Campobasso. Fees are capped at €1,849 a year and reduced by income or merit, so it can be tuition-free for eligible students.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-56
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
English
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
Curricular/personal-preparation committee review; possible online individual interview or disciplinary tests; English assessment where accepted documentary evidence is absent.
Language requirement
English B2: 2026/27 guide direct recognition via Cambridge/TOEFL/IELTS or formal whole-degree MOI; otherwise university assessment. Italian B2 before final qualification.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Molise’s English Public and Health Economics master requires a suitable bachelor’s and English B2. The current 2026/27 student guide names five degree classes or an alternative with 18 economics/policy plus nine statistics/demography credits. It narrows direct English recognition to the stated international certificates or formal MOI; other candidates take a university language assessment. [1, 2]

Named degree classes and suitable foreign bachelor’s

The current guide accepts L-33 Economics, L-18 Business Administration, L-41 Statistics, L-16 Public Administration/Organisation and L-36 Political Science/International Relations. Foreign first-cycle qualifications are assessed by the Department of Economics committee for the content/level of courses completed and examinations passed. The international brochure requires a recognised bachelor’s comparable to at least three years/180 ECTS, allowing postgraduate study in its awarding system. [1, 3]

The programme expects adequate economics and quantitative foundations. No universal GPA or bachelor’s final-mark cutoff is published in these reviewed admission provisions. A degree class that meets the named route does not dispense with English clearance, suitability verification or any requested personal-preparation assessment. [1, 2]

Other degrees: 18 economics plus nine quantitative credits

For another degree class, obtain at least 18 CFU/ECTS in ECON-01/A Economics and/or ECON-02/A Economic Policy, formerly SECS-P/01 and /02; and at least nine in STAT-01/A Statistics and/or STAT-03/A Demography, formerly SECS-S/01 and /04. These are two separate minima totalling 27, not an interchangeable 27-credit general STEM pool. Foreign examinations are mapped by their actual contents. [1]

Any missing credits must be acquired through individual courses before enrolment. Molise’s guide does not provide the permission to recover missing admission credits during year one that Catanzaro publishes for its different master. We map your official records and syllabi so the committee can identify the recognised subjects and any deficit. [1]

Current direct English B2 recognition: certificates or MOI

The 2026/27 guide accepts recognised Cambridge English, TOEFL or IELTS evidence attesting at least B2, or an official MOI certificate showing a previous university degree was taught entirely in English. It explicitly identifies these as the only documentation forms accepted for direct recognition. It does not publish a universal numerical IELTS/TOEFL score or certificate age in this section. [1]

The standing Access webpage lists broader examples, including PTE/university examinations and placement/interview options. The newer year-specific guide’s narrower direct-document rule is the basis used here. Applicants unable to provide the accepted certificate or appropriate MOI must undergo the designated university English assessment before the programme begins. A certificate omitted from the current guide does not give direct exemption. [1, 2]

Italian B2 is required before the final qualification

The current guide requires international students to establish Italian B2 before receiving the final degree. It accepts the stated recognised Italian certificates, including CILS, CELI, PLIDA or CERTIT, or the university’s interview/placement test where appropriate. This requirement is distinct from English B2 for entry to the English-taught programme. [1]

The central non-EU brochure’s pre-entry Italian-test requirement is expressly for Italian-taught programmes. Its generic final checklist does not turn this English master’s before-graduation Italian condition into an automatic Italian B2 admission barrier. We follow the course-specific guide and the university’s applicable administrative instruction. [1, 3]

Personal preparation and possible subject assessment

A department-appointed committee reviews curricular eligibility and personal preparation. It may examine the transcript, conduct an individual interview including online, and administer specific disciplinary tests. Foreign qualifications receive content/level review. No compulsory uniform timed test, published pass score or unconditional grade-based interview exemption is specified in the current course guide. [1, 2]

Foreign qualification file: documents and authenticity

The overseas brochure requests the qualifying bachelor’s or the allowed provisional graduation evidence, full transcript, Declaration of Value, official course syllabi and institutional confirmation of their authenticity/correspondence. Where a thesis was part of the award, supply the applicable copy/translation/legalisation. Identity/passport evidence is required. Final eligibility still requires the actual qualifying award; provisional submission does not waive it. [3]

We follow the prescribed official translation/authentication requirements. The course admission webpage says English-issued documents need no translation, whereas the central overseas checklist describes Italian translations; we confirm the university’s applicable language instruction for your file instead of treating either generic phrase as an unconditional waiver. The EU/equivalent brochure separately lists award/transcript, DOV or Diploma Supplement and any applicable valid Italian residence permit. [2, 3, 4]

Applicant route, Universitaly and deadline status

Overseas non-EU visa applicants pre-enrol in Universitaly with passport/ID, bachelor’s and transcript/Diploma Supplement, then complete the programme’s academic checks. University validation forwards the application to the consulate; it is not itself a decision on admission or the study visa. After arrival, apply for the study residence permit within eight working days and complete the university’s document/original checks. [3]

EU and qualifying non-EU residents follow their separate profile/enrolment procedure, with foreign records referred to the teaching committee. The reviewed programme guide and brochures do not establish a course-specific open application window, exact interview appointment or 2027/28 deadline. We follow the university’s current selection/enrolment notice for those dates; no open round is inferred from standing eligibility guidance. [1, 3, 4]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Molise, Public and Health Economics LM-56 Student Guide 2026/27, Access Requirements and Admission Procedures pp. 16-18; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Molise, Public and Health Economics, Access webpage; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Molise, Non-EU Student Enrolment Information 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Molise, EU and Equivalent Student Enrolment Information 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Public and Health Economics is a two-year master's degree (laurea magistrale, class LM-56, economics) worth 120 ECTS and run by the Department of Economics of the University of Molise in Campobasso.

The university states that the whole degree is delivered in English. Access is open rather than capped, subject to a check of your background and English level.

The programme suits graduates in economics, business, statistics, public administration or political science who want to work on health systems, welfare and public policy using data.

It combines economic theory with quantitative methods and the legal and management side of public health, with a strong focus on policy evaluation and evidence-based decisions.

What you will study

The first year covers the fundamentals of economics, statistics, mathematics and public policy. The second year moves to specific topics such as public policy evaluation, data analysis applied to health economics and predictive analytics.

The department organises the study plan around four pillars, with 12 courses, elective credits, an internship and a final dissertation:

  • Economics and public policy: public economics, health economics, welfare systems, resource allocation and policy design
  • Quantitative methods: econometrics, statistics, predictive analytics and machine learning
  • Management and law: public sector accounting, governance and the legal frameworks of health systems at national and European level
  • Public policy evaluation and planning, using mathematical and statistical tools on real cases
  • Professional experience: a mandatory internship in public institutions, international organisations or private firms
  • Final thesis: original research under academic supervision

How the programme is taught

Teaching mixes lectures with an intensive programme of seminars, project work and hands-on training.

The department lists collaborations with partners including Agenas, the Italian Ministry of Health, the Conference of Regions and the Bank of Italy, which give students the chance to apply what they learn in real settings, and study trips abroad are also planned.

The course page also links the degree to the European Master in Official Statistics (EMOS) network, which is relevant if you are interested in a career in official statistics.

Career paths

The department describes graduates as able to assess public policies, manage healthcare resources and support decisions with evidence, in Italy and abroad. Typical roles it names include:

  • Health economics analyst in research institutes, public health agencies or international organisations
  • Public policy consultant for governments, NGOs or private firms, in areas such as healthcare, ageing, social welfare and sustainability
  • Data scientist for the public and health sectors
  • Manager in hospitals, regional health agencies, ministries or development organisations
  • Researcher or PhD student in economics, public health or related fields

Possible employers include ministries and regional governments, international organisations such as the WHO, OECD and European Commission, and private companies in health, insurance, pharmaceuticals and consulting.

Fees and scholarships

For this programme the university lists a maximum yearly contribution of €1,849: a €16 stamp duty, a €140 regional tax and a variable part that can be reduced by income or academic merit, with rates that may differ by country of origin.

Two programme scholarships were offered to international students for 2026/27. ESU Molise, the regional body for the right to study, runs yearly scholarships, so this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students.

How to apply from outside the EU

We follow the programme-specific qualification, language, assessment and deadline rules set out in the entry requirements. Academic suitability, foreign-document recognition, Universitaly, visa and final registration are separate checks. We use the current official course procedure for your applicant category. [1, 2]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Molise's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your Universitaly pre-enrolment and the application file for the department's eligibility review.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your regional DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Which degree classes are accepted?

L-33, L-18, L-41, L-16 and L-36, with suitable foreign degrees reviewed for course-content correspondence. [1]

What credits are needed from another degree class?

At least 18 economics/economic-policy credits and nine statistics/demography credits in the specified sectors. [1]

Can missing credits be completed during the master?

The current guide requires them through individual courses before enrolment. [1]

Which documents give direct English recognition?

The 2026/27 guide lists Cambridge, TOEFL or IELTS B2 evidence, or formal MOI for a university degree entirely taught in English. [1]

What if I have no accepted English document?

Take the university’s designated English assessment before the programme begins. [1]

Is Italian B2 needed at admission?

The course guide requires international students to demonstrate Italian B2 before the final qualification, separately from English B2 for entry. [1]

Can someone handle my whole application to Public and Health Economics at Molise?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Molise's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the regional DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Public and Health Economics?

The department committee reviews Indian degrees by content. A B.Com, BBA, BA or B.Sc. transcript is checked for at least 18 economics or economic policy credits and nine statistics or demography credits. [1] English B2 comes from Cambridge, TOEFL or IELTS evidence or a full-English MOI, otherwise a university assessment. [1] We map your syllabi, then handle Universitaly pre-enrolment and the eligibility review. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Public and Health Economics are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: Universitaly pre-enrolment and the department's academic eligibility review, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Public and Health Economics are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: Universitaly pre-enrolment and the department's academic eligibility review. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I'm applying from the UK, US, Canada, Singapore or Malaysia. Is anything different?

The academic rules are identical. Non-EU applicants who live abroad, including citizens of these countries, follow the same route: Universitaly pre-enrolment and the department's academic eligibility review, then a type D study visa. Read our guides for London, New York, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 27, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility