Master in Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies at University of Trieste
Trieste Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies has mixed teaching language, with an English second-year semester. Entry requires L-2/L-13 or the 15+45-credit alternative, English B2 and preparation evaluation.
Master
2 years
Trieste
Multiple
University of Trieste



Detailed entry requirements
Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies normally accepts biotechnology/biology degrees, with a 15+45-credit alternative route and English B2. Current official guidance concentrates English teaching in the first semester of the second year, with some first-year options; the whole programme must not be advertised as fully English. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]
Degree routes and the 60-credit alternative
The normal academic route is L-2 Biotechnology or L-13 Biological Sciences, including the corresponding former classes/equivalent qualifications. A suitable foreign first-cycle award is evaluated against the same requirements with university conversion of subjects, credits and, where applicable, the final grade. Other three-year degrees/diplomas must provide at least 60 CFU across the two separately defined groups below. [1, 2]
15+45-credit groups for other qualifications
- At least 15 CFU in the listed chemistry, mathematics, physics, computing/statistical and agricultural-chemistry group. Legacy references are CHIM/01 to /12, MAT/01 to /09, FIS/01 to /08, INF/01, MED/01, the printed SECS/01 and SECS/02 statistics references, and AGR/13. The current regulation provides the corresponding new-sector mapping. [1, 2]
- At least 45 CFU in the listed biological, biomedical and related subjects: BIO/01 to /07 and /09 to /14, /16 to /19; MED/03, /04 and /07; ING-INF/05 and /06; ING-IND/22; IUS/04 and /14; SECS-P/06 and /07, with the current regulation’s corresponding sectors. BIO/08 and BIO/15 are not added to the specified list. [1, 2]
Subject mapping, missing credits and grade-dependent evaluation
Supply the actual transcript and official syllabi for committee mapping, especially for a foreign award or an interdisciplinary degree. If the required curriculum is incomplete, individual assessment can prescribe additional credits; those credits must be earned before enrolment, including through individual-course examinations. A health-science or pharmaceutical degree name alone does not waive the two-group matrix. [1]
With all prerequisites satisfied, a final grade of at least 99/110 establishes adequate personal preparation. For a lower grade, the committee evaluates the academic record and can accept, reject or request an interview, including remotely, on subjects relevant to the course. Foreign final marks require the university’s equivalence decision. The threshold is not an automatic rejection rule for applicants below it. [1, 2]
English B2 evidence and the CLA wording limitation
English B2 in writing and speaking is required. The regulation recognises explicit academic-curriculum evidence or an accepted external certificate; otherwise it requires a university language test. The current page asks for university attestation explicitly stating the level or an AICLU-listed certificate. A vague assertion that some classes were English-taught does not necessarily document B2. [1, 2]
The webpage also mentions obtaining uncertified competence through CLA after enrolment. Current Article 4 treats B2 as part of admission preparation and otherwise requires a university test. Obtain the course’s accepted language decision rather than assume automatic post-enrolment deferral, particularly for a visa applicant. The separate central Italian requirement for Italian/mixed-language delivery remains applicable. [1, 2, 5]
Actual teaching language and pathway choice
The university specifies English teaching in the first semester of the second year and some English options in the first year. It describes Medical/Pharmaceutical Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology pathways. This is a mixed-language structure, not a verified wholly English route. Check the selected first-year modules and the corresponding Italian-language requirements before using it as an English-only shortlist option. [6]
Teaching language and additional visa-route Italian evidence
English B2 as an academic prerequisite does not mean every module is English-taught. The central visa rules require Italian evidence for a degree taught in Italian or both Italian and English. Accepted routes include the stated eligible international-school qualification, CLIQ-system B2-or-higher certification such as CELI/CILS/PLIDA, or at least 50/72 on the CISIA Italian L2 test organised by other universities. Applicants needing a visa must meet the teaching-route language conditions as well as the course’s English requirement. [5]
Course clearance and complete Esse3 file
The course procedure starts with registration for its preparation-assessment competition in Esse3. Upload valid identity evidence, the prescribed degree/examination self-declaration for the applicable Italian record, the course’s Excel self-assessment questionnaire and language evidence. Foreign applicants also submit the official records required for qualification evaluation; do not substitute an Italian self-declaration for foreign evidence that the office requires. Wait for the admissions office’s email confirming the outcome before final enrolment. [2, 3, 4]
Final enrolment includes the course’s supplementary form, identity document where required, Italian fiscal-code evidence, a compliant JPEG identity photograph and applicable language/immigration documents. Non-EU applicants supply the residence permit or application receipt as instructed. Pay the first instalment and complete the final confirmation. Pending-degree candidates can begin the stated conditional procedure and attend teaching, but the enrolment/student number is finalised only after the degree and complete documentation are supplied. [2]
2026/27 ordinary dates versus international rounds
The current course page lists preparation-evaluation requests from 20 April 2026 to 29 January 2027 and final enrolment from 20 April 2026 to the strict limit of 31 March 2027. These are ordinary course dates. They do not replace the earlier foreign-qualification assessment periods or mean that a visa applicant can start a new file in March. [2, 3]
The central international page, updated 2 October 2026, gives assessment rounds of 15 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 and 15 February to 30 April 2026, followed by a round restricted to EU and EU-equivalent applicants ending 2 October 2026. All listed international rounds have passed as of this review. One assessment covers up to three programme applications. No new 2027/28 intake date is established in these sources. [3]
Foreign-degree documents, translation and recognition
The qualifying foreign first-cycle award must grant access to comparable postgraduate study in its home system. Supply the degree, official transcript with grades and credit/hour information, and university-issued course descriptions. An EU-issued degree should be accompanied by its Diploma Supplement; a complete supplement can replace a separate transcript. Internet printouts are not accepted as official course descriptions. [4]
Documents issued outside Italian/English need translation into one of those languages. The central page requires legalisation/apostille with its named country exemptions and delivery of originals according to office instructions. It says a Declaration of Value is not routinely necessary; CIMEA comparability may be requested in special cases. Qualification correspondence and the programme’s actual subject-credit evaluation are separate checks. For open-access programmes, complete the required records before enrolment. [4]
Sources and verification
- University of Trieste, Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies Teaching Regulations, cohort 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Trieste, Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies Come iscriversi, 2026/27; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Trieste, Degree Seekers and International Students, updated 2 October 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Trieste, Required documents for international degree seekers, updated 24 July 2025; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Trieste, International students language proficiency assessment, updated 3 December 2025; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Trieste, Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies Il corso, current programme description; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
Entry requirements: short questions and answers
Which degree classes are the normal route?
L-2 Biotechnology and L-13 Biological Sciences, or the listed former/equivalent qualifications, subject to the remaining requirements. [1]
What is the alternative credit requirement?
At least 60 CFU split into 15 in the listed foundation group and 45 in the listed biological/biomedical and related group. [1, 2]
Can I complete missing credits after enrolment?
The current regulation requires the prescribed missing curricular credits before enrolment, including through individual courses if necessary. [1]
Does a grade below 99/110 prevent admission?
Not automatically. The committee evaluates the record and may interview before accepting or refusing admission. [1, 2]
Is the entire programme English-taught?
No. The university specifies English teaching for the first semester of the second year and some first-year options, rather than full English delivery. [6]
Is English B2 alone enough for a visa?
For mixed Italian/English delivery, visa applicants also need the accepted central Italian-language evidence. Academic English B2 does not replace that requirement. [1, 5]
About the programme
Trieste Medical and Diagnostic Biotechnologies is an LM-9 master with Medical/Pharmaceutical Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology pathways. The first semester of the second year is English-taught, with some English options in the first year. The programme has mixed teaching language. [6]
How to apply
Use the detailed requirements above for the qualifying degree, 15+45-credit alternative, grade-dependent assessment and both academic and visa-route language evidence. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
More English-taught programmes at this university
Other public universities in this city
They began right where you are
