Master in Materials Engineering and Nanotechnology at University of Salento

English Materials master. Domestic entry accepts industrial engineering, chemistry or physics with B2; the separate visa selection requires at least 70% GPA.

Master

2 years

Lecce

English

University of Salento

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
ADISU Puglia
scholarship for
Università del Salento

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Salento
Public university · Apulia · Founded 1955
View university →

Detailed entry requirements

Materials Engineering and Nanotechnology is an English-taught master. Its 2026/27 ordinary domestic call and the separate non-EU visa call impose different degree, grade and assessment rules. The 85/110 domestic interview exemption is not the same as the visa call’s 70% minimum GPA. Use the correct applicant route. [1–4]

Who can use the ordinary call

The ordinary call is reserved for Italian citizens, EU citizens and non-EU citizens residing in Italy with a qualifying valid residence permit. It explicitly excludes candidates outside those categories. A non-EU candidate abroad requiring a study visa must use the relevant international selection, not the December domestic interview just because it is later. [1]

Academic qualification for the domestic route

The call accepts L-9 Industrial Engineering, L-27 Chemical Sciences/Technologies and L-30 Physical Sciences/Technologies bachelor’s degrees, the listed specialist/master’s engineering awards, old five-year engineering degrees or suitable recognised equivalents. All curricular conditions and English B2 must be held at application. The committee checks the curriculum before the interview; candidates lacking the prescribed conditions cannot proceed to preparation assessment. No alternative numerical subject-credit matrix is supplied in this call. [1, 3]

Technical interview and the conditional 85/110 exemption

Personal preparation is normally assessed by an individual oral interview on foundation, core and related subjects relevant to the degree. The commission includes three engineering academics and a Language Centre member. A candidate meeting the curricular requirements with a bachelor’s final grade of at least 85/110 is exempt from the technical preparation interview. This is an exemption threshold, not an absolute minimum grade for everyone. The English condition is evaluated separately. [1]

Even a candidate exempt from both technical and English assessment must register and submit the online application. Transfers from another university/course still follow admission and assessment unless an exemption applies; recognition of previous credits comes after admission. An exemption must not be assumed from professional experience or an unrelated degree title. [1]

English B2 and domestic evidence

English must be at least B2. A B2-or-higher certificate or native-English status grants the stated language-interview exemption; other candidates are tested as part of the admission assessment. The call does not publish a universal IELTS score or guarantee acceptance of every private language certificate. The standing catalogue additionally describes an Italian check with supplementary Italian learning when needed; that clause does not turn this explicitly English master into a universally Italian-B2-entry programme. [1, 3]

Domestic deadlines and remaining sessions

Applications close at noon on 27 August and 3 December 2026, 1 March and 31 March 2027. Corresponding assessments are 11 September and 18 December 2026, 16 March and 15 April 2027, all at 10:30 local time on Microsoft Teams. The next future domestic deadline as of this review is 3 December 2026. Applicants exempt from both checks do not need to connect but still must apply by the deadline. [1]

Separate 2026 visa selection: GPA, degree and places

The May second international call covers only Materials, Aerospace and Safety/Resilience engineering. For Materials, a relevant industrial-engineering, chemistry or physics background is evaluated for suitability. The stated minimum GPA is 70% and English must be B2. The call assigns 30 Materials positions, with ten Chinese Marco Polo places reserved for each of its programmes. Those numbers are specific to this international call and are not interchangeable with the ordinary notice’s different reserved-place wording. [2]

The call first screens the qualifications, then interviews eligible candidates for preparation and English. It does not extend the domestic 85/110 technical exemption to this selection. A bachelor’s programme must be academically completed: a candidate awaiting the final certificate may provide official evidence of completion, but merely having unfinished examinations/final-year status is insufficient for this call. [2]

Visa-route evidence, fee and closed dates

Upload passport, final degree/official completion evidence, complete transcript with grades/credits and CGPA, and English evidence, with originals plus Italian or English translations where needed. The international call expressly accepts an official medium-of-instruction statement showing the entire prior degree was taught in English as an alternative to a certificate, while retaining oral English verification. Register on the student portal, complete the application and pay €23; an unpaid application is not considered. [2, 4]

That second call closed on 12 June 2026, with interviews on 30 June at 11:30 Italian time through Microsoft Teams. It is closed as of 6 October. A positive academic assessment must be followed by the appropriate Universitaly and visa procedure and final enrolment; it is not itself a visa or scholarship award. No 2027/28 selection dates are established by these sources. [2]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Salento Engineering Department, Materials 2026/27 ordinary admission call, approved by DD 876, 22 July 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Salento, second international industrial-engineering admission call 2026/27, May 2026 notice; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Salento, Materials programme catalogue; standing page, publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Salento, New international admission notices, 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

Entry requirements: short questions and answers

Which ordinary degree classes are accepted?

L-9 Industrial Engineering, L-27 Chemistry and L-30 Physics, plus the listed older/higher engineering awards or recognised equivalents. [1]

Is 85/110 the minimum grade?

No. It grants the technical-interview exemption only when curricular requirements are met. Other eligible domestic candidates undergo assessment. [1]

Does the visa call have a GPA minimum?

Yes. The May 2026 international call states a 70% minimum GPA and English B2. Those conditions must not be replaced by the domestic exemption rule. [2]

Can an English-medium degree replace a certificate?

The separate international call accepts official evidence that the whole degree was taught in English, while still assessing English orally. Do not assume the same evidence rule for every route. [2]

When is the next domestic application deadline?

3 December 2026 at noon, for assessment on 18 December at 10:30. The domestic call excludes non-EU visa applicants abroad. [1]

Is the June visa round still open?

No. It closed 12 June 2026. Domestic December/March sessions do not reopen that international selection. [1, 2]

About the programme

Materials Engineering and Nanotechnology is taught in English. Applicants must distinguish the ordinary domestic admission call from the separate international industrial-engineering selection. [1–3]

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility