Master in Information Engineering for Digital Medicine at University of Salerno

Two-year English-taught LM-32 master at the University of Salerno, Fisciano: health data analytics, medical software, wearable devices, machine learning and healthcare cybersecurity.

Master

2 years

Salerno

English

University of Salerno

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
ADISURC Campania
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Salerno

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Salerno
Public university · Campania · Founded 1968
View university →
In short

Information Engineering for Digital Medicine is a two-year, 120-credit master's degree (LM-32) taught in English at the University of Salerno's Fisciano campus. It covers health data, medical software, wearable devices and machine learning. Tuition follows UNISA contribution bands, with an ADISURC regional scholarship for eligible students.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-32
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
English
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
Preparation assessment, 60/100 pass with 20 qualification + 80 test points, unless all applicable exemption conditions hold.
Language requirement
English B2. Ordinary abroad procedure requires Ministry-accredited certification and rejects MOI/Duolingo; academic regulation lists CLA/TOLC-I 28/30 and exceptional assessment routes.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Information Engineering for Digital Medicine requires three specific credit blocks, English B2 and verification of personal preparation. Its 2026/27 regulations and current international procedure distinguish academic test alternatives from the certificate demanded of ordinary abroad applicants. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1, 2]

Qualifying degree and three curricular conditions

A recognised bachelor’s/three-year diploma or suitable foreign equivalent is required. Computer engineering and related information-engineering backgrounds are the normal fit; a computer-science degree without enough engineering subjects may not meet the requirements. The committee maps the actual examination record, rather than admitting every graduate with an IT-related degree title. [1, 2]

Exact current credit blocks

  • At least 36 CFU in the foundation groups. Foundation subjects comprise physical disciplines in Area 02; mathematical/computing disciplines in Area 01 excluding MATH-01/A and MATH-01/B; CHEM-03/A, CHEM-05/A and CHEM-06/A; and STAT-01/A and STAT-01/B. This block also includes IINF-05/A. [1]
  • At least 36 CFU in IINF-05/A or INFO-01/A. [1]
  • At least 12 CFU in IBIO-01/A, IIET-01/A, IINF-01/A, -02/A, -03/A and -04/A, or IMIS-01/B. [1]

Committee mapping and preparation exemptions

IINF-05/A appears in two listed blocks. The regulation states the three conditions separately; it sets no 84-unique-credit total and does not say that credits can be double counted. We obtain the committee’s mapping of your transcript. Any missing curricular requirements must be fulfilled before the preparation assessment and enrolment; no incoming credit deficit is permitted. [1]

The current admission annex exempts graduates of Salerno’s specified L-8 Computer Engineering or Information Engineering for Digital Medicine bachelor’s route from the preparation test. Other candidates are exempt only when all stated conditions hold: weighted examination average at least 24/30; degree completed by the first year beyond its normal duration; qualification awarded no more than two calendar years before enrolment; and correspondence with the master’s specified certification standard. Foreign-grade equivalence is assessed by the university. These are exemption conditions, not a universal GPA minimum for every applicant. Academic-credit and English requirements still apply. [1]

Detailed preparation-test syllabus

  • Mathematics and physics: calculus, linear algebra, complex numbers and eigenvalue methods; mechanics and electromagnetism. [1, 2]
  • Control and electronics: continuous/discrete linear time-invariant systems; electrical circuits; combinational/sequential logic and hardware-description methods such as VHDL. [1, 2]
  • Telecommunications: probability and random variables; continuous/discrete signals and systems; digital-signal and communication fundamentals. [1, 2]
  • Programming/computing: data structures, algorithms, object orientation, concurrency and complexity; processor architecture and networks/TCP; relational data models, SQL and transactions; operating-system scheduling, memory and files. [1, 2]

English B2 and the international certificate rule

The academic regulation recognises at least English B2 through a Ministry-recognised certifier, the university language-centre assessment, or at least 28/30 in the English section of TOLC-I. In exceptional cases the committee can perform the specified language assessment. These are language-evidence routes, not substitutes for subject credits or the admission assessment. [1]

The department’s international checklist is stricter in its ordinary abroad-applicant procedure: it requires a B2 certificate from a listed Ministry-accredited institution and explicitly rejects Medium of Instruction letters and Duolingo. In that route, applicants abroad supply the stated certificate; a generic MOI or an academic-regulation alternative is not automatically accepted. Any individual exceptional assessment needs the committee’s express decision. [1, 2]

Assessment score, attempts and validity

For candidates who are not exempt, the assessment totals 100 points: up to 20 for prior academic qualifications and up to 80 for the test. The pass mark is 60/100. The course assesses curricular suitability before personal preparation, and missing academic requirements must be completed first. Participation is requested at least 10 days before the scheduled test, with the degree/transcript showing credits, grades, subject classifications and any other requested qualification records. We send that request for you. [1, 2]

The current admission-procedure annex allows candidates still completing the first-cycle degree to take the preparation test after obtaining at least 150 credits. Passing remains valid for 12 months from the month of the test, and candidates may attempt it no more than twice in a calendar year. Pending-degree test access does not remove the requirement to obtain the qualifying award and satisfy all enrolment conditions. [1]

Current test dates and applicant location

The published in-person sessions are 17 July, 25 September and 11 December 2026 and 19 February 2027. As of this review, the December and February sessions remain future dates. The remote sessions, reserved exclusively for residents abroad, were 22 June, 3 July and 11 September 2026; all have passed. We request a place through the prescribed participation procedure at least 10 days before a session. An upcoming in-person test is not proof that a new visa intake or remote session is open. [2]

Foreign records and Universitaly-first procedure

The file holds your passport, CV, final bachelor’s qualification and a transcript listing each examination, grade and credit/credit-hour amount, together with the accepted English certificate. We add course descriptions where needed to establish subject equivalence. The international instructions request a Declaration of Value or CIMEA comparability for the foreign bachelor’s. The stated procedure permits transmitting the qualification-value evidence at its later specified stage; we start obtaining it in time for the consular and final-registration checks. [1, 2]

The department explicitly requires Universitaly pre-enrolment first and says no pre-check is performed before that step. The programme then examines the file and arranges the required assessment; after a positive university outcome, the applicant proceeds with the visa and final registration. Universitaly comes first and the test follows. Admission, visa issuance and final qualification verification remain separate decisions. The optional UNISA scholarship call is a separate selection, and its deadline is not the programme’s general admission deadline. No 2027/28 admission calendar is established by these sources. [2]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Salerno, Information Engineering for Digital Medicine Teaching Regulations 2026/27, Article 3 and admission-procedure annex; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Salerno, Information Engineering for Digital Medicine Enrollment, current 2026/27 assessment dates and international instructions; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Information Engineering for Digital Medicine is a two-year, 120-credit master's degree (laurea magistrale, class LM-32) taught in English by the Department of Information Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Applied Mathematics (DIEM) at the University of Salerno, Fisciano campus.

It gives engineers advanced design skills for problems where information engineering meets healthcare, with a focus on bioinformatics systems, digital health technologies and precision medicine, including genomics and proteomics. It suits graduates in computer engineering or another information engineering degree; the course warns that a computer science degree without engineering courses may not meet the prerequisites.

What you will study

The first year of the 2026/27 plan is worth 60 credits and is entirely required, combining health data, software and devices:

  • Biology and Genomics
  • Health Data Analytics
  • Medical Software Engineering
  • Wearable Healthcare Devices
  • Cybersecurity for Healthcare
  • Machine Learning
  • Medical Image Processing and Visualization
  • IT Management of Clinical Information Systems

The second year adds further required units and 6 to 12 credits of electives before the thesis.

How the programme is taught

Laboratory activities and the thesis are used to build analysis and design skills, and the course pays attention to teamwork and communication. Teaching is in English on the Fisciano campus.

Career paths

The course prepares graduates for professional roles in digital health and bioinformatics, or for further study in a PhD or a second-level master's programme. Directions that match the study plan include:

  • Digital health and medical software engineering
  • Health data analytics and machine learning
  • Bioinformatics and precision medicine
  • Clinical information systems and healthcare cybersecurity
  • Doctoral research

Fees and scholarships

UNISA charges tuition by contribution band. If you are a non-EU student living abroad you start in the third band; if your country is on the low human development list you are assigned to the first band automatically, and a documented family hardship can also qualify you for it. The regional DSU scholarship in Campania is run by ADISURC.

How to apply from outside the EU

The route starts with Universitaly pre-enrolment and the complete academic/language file; the department says it performs no pre-check beforehand. It then evaluates curricular requirements and arranges the required assessment, unless a current exemption applies. Visa and final recognition/registration follow the university outcome. The published remote 2026 sessions have passed. [1, 2]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Salerno's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your Universitaly pre-enrolment with your full academic and English file, and your preparation assessment request.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your ADISURC Campania scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Is any computer-science bachelor’s automatically eligible?

No. The committee checks all three subject-credit blocks; a computer-science record lacking the required engineering subjects may fail curricular evaluation. [1, 2]

What are the three credit conditions?

At least 36 foundation credits, 36 computing/information-processing credits and 12 in the listed engineering sectors. The committee decides the mapping where sector lists overlap. [1]

Is a 24/30 average a universal admission minimum?

No. It is one condition of the stated preparation-test exemption for other-degree applicants, together with completion timing, award recency and certification correspondence. [1]

What score passes the assessment?

At least 60/100 overall, with up to 20 points for academic qualifications and up to 80 for the test. [1, 2]

Is an MOI letter accepted for the ordinary abroad route?

No. The department requires a Ministry-accredited B2 certificate and rejects MOI letters and Duolingo in its international checklist. [2]

Should I pass the test before submitting Universitaly?

The department requires Universitaly pre-enrolment first and performs no pre-check before that step. File evaluation and the required assessment follow. [2]

Can someone handle my whole application to Information Engineering for Digital Medicine at Salerno?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Salerno's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the ADISURC Campania scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Information Engineering for Digital Medicine?

If you hold a B.Tech or B.E., computer engineering and related information-engineering backgrounds are the normal fit, and we map your exams against three credit blocks: 36 foundation, 36 computing and 12 engineering credits [1]. You need a Ministry-accredited B2 English certificate, as MOI letters and Duolingo are not accepted [2]. The steps are Universitaly pre-enrolment, file evaluation and the preparation assessment unless you are exempt [2]. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Information Engineering for Digital Medicine are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: Universitaly pre-enrolment, the department's file evaluation and the preparation assessment unless an exemption applies, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Information Engineering for Digital Medicine are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: Universitaly pre-enrolment, the department's file evaluation and the preparation assessment unless an exemption applies. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I studied or live in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. What is the route?

The academic rules for Information Engineering for Digital Medicine are the same whatever your nationality, and your degree is assessed like any other foreign qualification. Non-EU applicants who live abroad follow the same route: Universitaly pre-enrolment, the department's file evaluation and the preparation assessment unless an exemption applies, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for where they live. Read our guides for students in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 27, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility