Master in Food Science and Technology at University of Turin

Two-year LM-70 R food science master's at the University of Turin. The English route runs through the EIT Food Master in Food Systems mobility paths, with consortium selection and participation fees; the local curriculum has its own credit and interview rules.

Master

2 years

Turin

Multiple

University of Turin

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Food Systems: consortium terms, with fee waivers available; local route: ordinary university system
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
EDISU Piemonte
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Torino
Taught in English and Italian

This programme is taught in both English and Italian. For more information, check your general eligibility for Italian public universities, and if you are eligible, book a consultation with one of ApplyAZ's Italy expert consultants.

University campus
Offered by
University of Turin
Public university · Piedmont · Founded 1404
View university →
In short

Food Science and Technology is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-70 R) at the University of Turin, with English-taught Food Systems paths and a local curriculum. The English paths need a relevant Bachelor of Science of at least 180 ECTS, IELTS Academic 6.5 or TOEFL 90, and EIT Food consortium selection.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-70 R
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
Multiple
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
No written test. Food Systems: Joint Admissions Board screening and interview. Local curriculum: preparation interview, with an exemption for L-26 graduates with at least 90/110.
Language requirement
Food Systems paths: English B2, shown by IELTS Academic 6.5 (5.5 in each part), TOEFL internet-based 90 or other B2 evidence accepted case by case. Local curriculum: English B2.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Food Science and Technology has curriculum-specific admission routes. English Food Systems paths require the EIT Food consortium’s qualifications, English evidence and selection, while the local route has separate curricular and preparation rules. Official sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1-8]

Choose the correct curriculum and admissions route

Food Science and Technology is the University of Turin’s two-year LM-70 R master’s degree. The current catalogue lists both English and Italian teaching and several Food Systems mobility paths alongside the local Sistemi alimentari curriculum. Its dedicated Food Systems clause directs applicants to the EIT Food application and evaluates food-science preparation, entrepreneurial aptitude and a systemic approach to food production. The local 60-credit/90-grade rules below do not replace the consortium’s own pathway requirements. [1, 2]

For an English Food Systems pathway, the application goes through the EIT Food Master in Food Systems portal, and we check the academic requirements of every university and track in that path. The consortium admission page requires a Bachelor of Science of at least 180 ECTS in Agricultural Sciences, Biological/Life Sciences, Food Science, Chemistry, Food Safety, Nutrition and/or Economics and Management. Relevant other degrees can be considered case by case. A suitable first degree and path-specific preparation are required; the reviewed consortium guidance does not publish a universal numerical GPA cutoff. [2, 3]

Food Systems English: B2 with programme-specific evidence

The English consortium programme requires B2 communicative competence. Its official admission page specifies TOEFL internet-based at least 90, or IELTS Academic at least 6.5 overall with at least 5.5 in each of writing, speaking, listening and reading. It does not publish a conversion for a differently scaled TOEFL report or a universal PTE threshold. Alternative documentation of B2 or higher can be considered by the admissions committee case by case. We check your chosen path’s additional requirements. [2]

A bachelor’s or master’s diploma from a curriculum studied entirely in English can serve as evidence only for recognised institutions in the published country list: all EU countries or Switzerland; the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand or United States; Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Belize, Guyana and other countries on the university's list. An English-medium qualification from another country is not an automatic waiver under this listed route. [2]

If a selected mobility path includes a UK track and requires a UK visa, the consortium additionally requires language documentation meeting the relevant visa test rules before full enrolment. The official page permits an initial application while that evidence is pending, but it must be supplied to complete enrolment. We follow the requirements of the actual path and admission offer. [2]

Food Systems file, path preferences and selection interview

The 2026 brochure asks for the bachelor diploma showing the final grade, transcript of records in English, and proof of B2 English. We complete all other documents required in the actual application and path checklist. The brochure permits up to ten preferred study paths; successful applicants receive an offer for one path according to the selection and preferences. We use the live form’s permitted preferences for the relevant intake. [3]

The Joint Admissions Board screens academic performance and entrepreneurial potential. Shortlisted candidates are interviewed on knowledge relevant to the food system, their ability to effect innovative change and English communication. The standing Turin selection page also considers entrepreneurial or subject-related experience and describes an interview of approximately 30 minutes, beginning with introduction/motivation and then questions related to the universities in the proposed path. That duration is standing guidance last updated in 2020, rather than a newly issued 2026 fixed-duration rule. [3, 8]

A relevant degree or English score makes you eligible for assessment; the path offer depends on selection. Your application explains the link between your prior study, practical or entrepreneurial experience and the proposed universities. The reviewed current brochure does not impose a universal GRE/GMAT score or written entrance test. [2, 3]

2026 consortium deadlines and accepting an offer

For studies starting in autumn 2026, the official notice dated 7 November 2025 gives 31 January 2026 for round one and 30 March 2026 for round two, both open to all candidates. Round three closed on 25 June 2026 for EU/EEA applicants, while non-EU/EEA applicants in that round were limited to paths starting at the University of Warsaw or University of Hohenheim. The June non-EU round therefore did not reopen a Turin-starting pathway. All three rounds have closed at the review date. No confirmed autumn-2027 calendar is supplied in these reviewed sources. [7]

After accepting an offer, you confirm your place within seven days, or the offer can be lost. Full or partial fee waivers are awarded on academic, professional and entrepreneurial evidence. The actual offer sets the applicable terms. Consortium participation fees and the ordinary university’s tuition system are different routes. [3]

The brochure describes full or partial participation-fee waivers, selected on academic/professional and innovation/entrepreneurial evidence. A fee waiver does not cover every living, travel, accommodation, insurance or personal cost. Scholarship selection is separate from academic admission, and meeting the degree and English minima does not by itself secure a waiver. [3]

Local curriculum: degree-wide 60-credit requirement

For the ordinary/local curricular route described in the Turin catalogue, hold a bachelor’s, three-year university diploma or suitable recognised foreign equivalent. At least 60 CFU must come from the basic/core subjects of class L-26 Food Science and Technology or former class 20: mathematics/statistics, physics, computing, biology, chemistry and the specified agricultural subjects. We document the required credits and relevant syllabi, since a degree title by itself does not show the full subject distribution. [1]

The catalogue lists MATH-01/A to MATH-06/A; PHYS-01/A to PHYS-06/B; IINF-05/A; STAT-01/A; BIOS-01/A to BIOS-01/C, BIOS-02/A, BIOS-06/A and BIOS-07/A; CHEM-03/A, CHEM-05/A and CHEM-07/B; AGRI-01/A, AGRI-02/A and B, AGRI-03/A, AGRI-04/B, AGRI-06/A and B, AGRI-07/A and AGRI-08/A. The commission determines the accepted subjects and foreign equivalents. Required gaps may be completed through assigned individual courses and assessments before preparation verification/enrolment; unresolved curricular deficiencies are not accepted for enrolment. [1]

Local curriculum: preparation interview, exemption and skills

The local preparation interview covers general/food microbiology; fundamental food-processing operations for plant/animal materials; food-production/preservation equipment; agri-food company economics/management; and food composition/analytical methods relevant to consumer protection. No more than two attempts are permitted per academic year. The catalogue considers preparation satisfied for L-26 or former class 20 graduates with a final grade at least 90/110. This is the specified local preparation-assessment exemption, not a consortium GPA threshold or automatic foreign-degree exemption. [1]

The degree-wide catalogue expects fluent written/spoken English at least B2 and competence in word processing, spreadsheets, databases and presentations. The consortium’s score/document rules remain the relevant English requirements for its English Food Systems paths. We check Italian and English teaching against the chosen curriculum, since it is not identical for every path. [1, 2]

Recognition and final enrolment in Turin

For a foreign qualification, Turin’s central policy checks recognised/accredited first-cycle level, study duration, academic rights and authenticity; the relevant qualifying first degree must be supplied even if a higher award is also held. We prepare the complete award and transcript, identity document, CV and motivation, and any requested translations or authenticity evidence. Pending graduates need official final-year and completed-semester records and the final qualifying award to enrol. For the consortium application, we follow its specific English transcript requirement and the chosen path checklist. [3, 4]

After academic selection, we follow the admission offer and Turin’s international-enrolment instructions. Foreign-qualification students receive first-payment instructions after the International Students Office checks their file. Non-EU applicants abroad need the appropriate 2026/27 study visa, residence-permit application receipt, official Italian fiscal code and complete authenticated study documentation. University admission alone does not complete these stages. [4, 5]

The central ordinary open-access master’s enrolment window is 23 July 2026 at 09:30 to 14 January 2027 at 15:00 Italian time, subject to earlier programme dates. It does not replace the EIT Food selection rounds, the path’s offer-acceptance conditions or its deposit deadline. We follow the selected route’s academic and financial clearance instructions before using MyUniTo. [3, 5, 6, 7]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Turin, Food Science and Technology, current degree catalogue with 2026/27 teaching entries, Admission requirements; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. EIT Food Master in Food Systems, Admission Requirements, current official consortium application guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. EIT Food Education, Master in Food Systems, 2026 brochure as labelled in the official filename, pages 15-19; publication date not printed in the reviewed admission pages; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Turin, Required documents for international students, standing qualification and document guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Turin, Enrolment for international students, 2026/27 guidance; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  6. University of Turin, Postgraduate degrees with free admission, 2026/27 procedures; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  7. EIT Food Master in Food Systems, Intake 2026: application deadlines for autumn 2026, notice dated 7 November 2025; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  8. University of Turin, Master Degree in Food Systems, Selection criteria, page updated 13 July 2020 and still published; reviewed with the 2026 brochure on 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Food Science and Technology is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-70 R) at the University of Turin. The catalogue lists both English and Italian teaching: the English route runs through the EIT Food Master in Food Systems mobility paths, and the local Sistemi alimentari curriculum has its own rules. [1]

The two routes have different admission processes, fees and deadlines, so we match your file to the right one before anything is submitted. [1][2]

What you will study

The Food Systems paths look for food-science preparation, entrepreneurial aptitude and a systemic approach to food production. Each path is a mobility path across universities in the EIT Food consortium, and applicants can rank up to ten preferred paths. [1][3]

The local preparation interview shows the ground the degree builds on: [1]

  • General and food microbiology
  • Food-processing operations for plant and animal materials
  • Food production and preservation equipment
  • Agri-food company economics and management
  • Food composition and analytical methods for consumer protection

How the programme is taught

The Food Systems paths are taught in English and move between partner universities. Not every path starts in Turin: for the 2026 intake, the consortium named paths starting at the University of Warsaw and the University of Hohenheim. A path with a UK track also needs English evidence that meets UK visa rules before full enrolment. [2][7]

Italian and English teaching differ between the Food Systems paths and the local curriculum, so we check the language against the curriculum you choose. [1]

Fees and scholarships

The Food Systems paths are run with the EIT Food consortium, which sets its own participation terms. After accepting an offer, you confirm your place within seven days. [3]

The consortium awards full or partial participation-fee waivers based on academic, professional, innovation and entrepreneurial evidence. A waiver does not cover living, travel, accommodation or insurance costs. These participation fees are separate from the University of Turin's ordinary tuition system. [3]

How to apply from outside the EU

For the English paths, the application goes through the EIT Food Master in Food Systems portal with your bachelor's diploma showing the final grade, a transcript of records in English and proof of B2 English. The Joint Admissions Board screens academic performance and entrepreneurial potential, and shortlisted candidates have an interview. [3]

For the autumn 2026 intake, the rounds closed on 31 January and 30 March 2026 for all candidates. The third round, to 25 June 2026, was open to non-EU applicants only for paths starting in Warsaw or Hohenheim. The sources do not yet give an autumn 2027 calendar. [7]

After selection, Turin's International Students Office checks your file and sends first-payment instructions. Non-EU applicants abroad then need a study visa, the residence-permit application receipt, an Italian fiscal code and authenticated study documents. [4][5]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Turin's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your EIT Food Master in Food Systems application, path preferences and University of Turin enrolment file.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your EDISU Piemonte scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Do all curricula use the same admission process?

No. The English Food Systems paths use the EIT Food consortium application and selection, while the local curriculum follows the University of Turin's credit and preparation rules. We match your file to the right route. [1][2]

What bachelor's degree do I need for the English Food Systems paths?

A Bachelor of Science of at least 180 ECTS in agricultural sciences, biological or life sciences, food science, chemistry, food safety, nutrition, or economics and management. Other relevant degrees are considered case by case, and each path can add its own requirements. [2]

What IELTS or TOEFL score do I need?

For the Food Systems paths, IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with at least 5.5 in each part, or TOEFL internet-based 90. Other proof of B2 can be considered case by case. A degree taught entirely in English counts only from institutions in the listed countries, such as EU countries, the UK, the US and Australia. [2]

Is there an entrance test or interview?

There is no universal written test, GRE or GMAT. The consortium's Joint Admissions Board screens academic performance and entrepreneurial potential, then interviews shortlisted candidates on the food system, innovation and English. The local route has its own preparation interview. [1][3]

When is the deadline for non-EU students?

For the autumn 2026 intake, the EIT Food rounds closed on 31 January and 30 March 2026. The third round, to 25 June 2026, was open to non-EU applicants only for paths starting in Warsaw or Hohenheim. The sources do not yet give an autumn 2027 calendar. [7]

Are fee waivers available for the Food Systems paths?

Yes. Full or partial fee waivers are awarded on academic, professional and entrepreneurial evidence. [3]

I have a B.Sc. in Food Technology or Microbiology. Can I apply?

Possibly. A B.Sc. in Food Technology or Food Science sits closest to the listed food science field, and Microbiology or Biotechnology sits closest to biological or life sciences. Each path can add its own requirements, so we check your transcript against the paths you rank. [2]

Can I apply before I graduate?

For enrolment in Turin, pending graduates need official final-year and completed-semester records, and the final qualifying award must be supplied to enrol. We follow the consortium checklist for the application itself. [4]

Can someone handle my whole application to Food Science and Technology at Turin?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Turin's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the EDISU Piemonte scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Food Science and Technology?

An Indian B.Sc. in Food Technology, Food Science, Agriculture, Life Sciences, Chemistry or Nutrition sits closest to the fields listed for the English Food Systems paths, which ask for a Bachelor of Science of at least 180 ECTS. You need IELTS Academic 6.5 with 5.5 in each part, or TOEFL internet-based 90. [2] The steps are the EIT Food application, the selection interview and Turin's international enrolment. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Food Science and Technology are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: EIT Food application, selection interview, admission offer and University of Turin international enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Food Science and Technology are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: EIT Food application, selection interview, admission offer and University of Turin international enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I studied or live in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. What is the route?

The academic rules for Food Science and Technology are the same whatever your nationality, and your degree is assessed like any other foreign qualification. Non-EU applicants who live abroad follow the same route: EIT Food application, selection interview, admission offer and University of Turin international enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for where they live. Read our guides for students in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
October 6, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility