Master in Electronics and Communications Engineering at University of Siena

Two-year English-taught engineering master (LM-27, 120 ECTS) at the University of Siena, with curricula in Telecommunications for the Digital Society and Electronics for Smart Industry.

Master

2 years

Siena

English

University of Siena

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
DSU Toscana
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Siena

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Siena
Public university · Tuscany · Founded 1240
View university →
In short

Electronics and Communications Engineering is a two-year master's degree (class LM-27) taught in English by the Department of Information Engineering and Mathematics at the University of Siena. It has curricula in telecommunications for the digital society and electronics for smart industry. It can be tuition-free for eligible students.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-27
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
English
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
Curricular evaluation and preparation assessment; foreign route may include online foundation test and remote interview. Applicable 95/110 exemption requires committee eligibility.
Language requirement
English B2; accepted certificate or committee-approved central MOI/native route, possible Siena CLA assessment. A1 Italian learning provision applies below A1.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Siena’s Electronics and Communications Engineering requires a recognised first-cycle qualification, suitable information-engineering preparation and English B2. The programme’s latest linked SUA 2026 file supplies academic conditions absent from its shorter English summary. Its admission pages and 2026/27 calendar were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1-5]

Qualifying degree classes and foreign equivalents

The current SUA requires a bachelor’s/three-year university diploma or suitable recognised foreign qualification. It lists L-7 Civil/Environmental Engineering, L-8 Information Engineering, L-9 Industrial Engineering, L-30 Physical Sciences/Technologies, L-31 Computer Science/Technologies, L-35 Mathematics and L-41 Statistics, with their corresponding former classes. The stated earlier specialist/old-system degrees in engineering, mathematics and physics can be assessed with appropriate differentiation of prior learning from this master. [1]

For a foreign award, the teaching committee verifies at least three years of study and learning objectives sufficiently corresponding to the listed first-cycle classes. There is no universal subject-credit total for every foreign degree in this section of the SUA. We provide the final award, complete transcript, official credits/grade scale and relevant course descriptions for committee assessment. No incoming curricular deficit is permitted. [1]

Required subject preparation and assessment

Required preparation covers mathematics, statistics, physics and information engineering. The English programme guidance emphasises first-cycle engineering-level mathematical/physical knowledge, fundamentals of computing, control, electronics and telecommunications, and basic programming. These are the substantive areas used to judge suitability; not every engineering degree is automatically accepted. [1, 2]

The current SUA normally uses an oral admission assessment. Candidates still completing the degree can access the preparation test after obtaining at least 120 CFU at the test date, while still needing the final qualification and all enrolment conditions. The date is arranged after the evaluation request. Candidates with the prescribed curricular requirements and an applicable final grade of at least 95/110 are exempt from the preparation test. This is an exemption threshold, not a universal rejection minimum. [1]

Foreign qualifications and the specified older Italian degree systems are evaluated case by case. The SUA describes foreign-applicant document selection followed by an online foundation test in mathematics, physics and information engineering and a remote interview assessing motivation and knowledge. We follow the actual invitation; a foreign-grade conversion does not automatically grant the Italian 95/110 exemption. [1]

English B2, recognised evidence and committee alternatives

English must be at least CEFR B2. The central language guidance recognises accepted certificates and appropriate listed Italian-university language-centre evidence. For applicants of any nationality with a qualifying award entirely taught in English, an official institutional Medium of Instruction record can be considered, subject to the committee’s decision and possible remote verification. This is an evidence-based route; not every MOI letter is accepted. [1, 3]

The central page also provides specified citizenship/native-language exemptions, including the listed English-language countries and territories. Its list includes Australia, Ireland, Malta, New Zealand, the UK and USA and the specifically named Caribbean/other countries; not every country with some English teaching is exempt. The Siena CLA can conduct the stated B2 interview, with limited availability. This assessment is programme-specific, not an international certificate automatically transferable to another university. [3]

The SUA says non-native Italian speakers below A1 should include learning activities aimed at reaching A1. It does not state Italian B2 as a universal pre-admission requirement for this English-taught master. The Italian-learning provision is separate from the English B2 entry condition. [1]

Academic document file and older GPA-link limitation

The file holds the programme/application form, CV in English, official examination transcript and grades in English, passport or applicable EU identity document, and accepted English evidence for non-native applicants. We add the completed award, grade/credit scale and syllabi as requested, and follow the current application portal’s upload rules rather than the standing page’s old single-ZIP packaging instruction. [2, 3]

The standing How to Apply page refers to country-specific minimum GPAs through a file named 2015. That linked file was unavailable during this review, and the latest SUA uses the assessment rules described above. No country GPA is therefore stated here, 95/110 does not replace it, and the 2015 file is not a new published threshold. We obtain the committee’s current country/qualification assessment for your file. [1, 2]

International versus ordinary 2026/27 calendars

Under the central master’s calendar, visa-requiring non-EU applicants had a deadline of 6 May 2026 and no summer intake. Eligible non-visa and EU/EU-equivalent international applicants had a summer period from 7 May to 30 September 2026. These international application windows are closed as of the review date. Applications outside the correct category’s period are rejected. [3, 4]

The course’s ordinary 2026/27 procedure accepts evaluation requests from 18 June to 14 December 2026 and registration from 7 July to 18 December 2026 after direct admission or the required test. This route does not reopen a closed foreign-qualification/visa application period. We apply under the correct qualification and residence category. Visa candidates complete Universitaly and consular steps after the required admission outcome, plus final foreign-qualification checks. No new 2027/28 calendar is established here. [4, 5]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Siena, Electronics and Communications Engineering SUA 2026, required knowledge and admission sections, PDF pages 15-17; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Siena, Electronics and Communications Engineering How to Apply, standing page containing older process wording; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Siena, International admissions language requirements, current standing guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Siena, Admission Calendar, 2026/27; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Siena, Electronics and Communications Engineering enrolment procedures, 2026/27 section; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Electronics and Communications Engineering is a two-year laurea magistrale in class LM-27 (telecommunications engineering), worth 120 ECTS and taught in English. It is run by the Department of Information Engineering and Mathematics at Palazzo San Niccolò in central Siena.

The degree builds advanced skills in systems that process and transmit information and in the design of electronic devices and systems. It suits graduates in electronic, telecommunications, computer or information engineering who want to specialise in hardware or communications.

What you will study

You follow one of two curricula, Telecommunications for the Digital Society or Electronics for Smart Industry. Topics listed by the university include:

  • analogue and digital circuit design
  • digital transmission techniques and information theory
  • analysis and management of telecommunication networks
  • representation and protection of multimedia information
  • design of sensors and microsystems
  • high-frequency systems and biomedical devices
  • advanced mathematics, including functional and complex analysis

How the programme is taught

Optional modules apply these skills to security, safety, energy and the environment. Students can take internships and semester exchanges through the department's partnerships with universities and research institutions, including Erasmus traineeships.

Career paths

Graduates work in industry and R&D divisions, public bodies, financial institutions and research centres, and can join the Italian professional register of engineers in the information engineering section. The university highlights these fields:

  • Internet of Things and smart industry
  • space and automotive industries
  • agri-food, tourism and healthcare technology
  • safety systems and assistive technology
  • cultural heritage preservation
  • energy systems

Fees and scholarships

The University of Siena does not use an ISEE parificato. For students without a valid Italian ISEE, its 2026/27 regulation links the contribution to the degree and the country of citizenship. DSU Toscana scholarship winners and eligible students are fully exempt, so this programme can be tuition-free for eligible students.

How to apply from outside the EU

We submit the academic and language file through the procedure for your qualification/residence category. The committee evaluates the curriculum and required preparation assessment. The 2026 international visa deadline was 6 May and non-visa summer deadline 30 September; ordinary later registration does not reopen them. Admission, Universitaly, visa and final qualification verification are separate stages. [1-5]

How ApplyAZ helps

ApplyAZ is an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities. We can include this programme in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes that fit your profile, so your plan never rests on a single application.

For eligible students who start with us, a named person owns each stage, from A to Z:

  • We check your transcript against Siena's entry rules for this programme.
  • We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
  • We prepare and submit your international application with your academic and English file, and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
  • We help you declare your family income for reduced fees and file your DSU Toscana scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
  • We prepare your visa file.

With operations in all 20 Italian regions, we follow each region's scholarship rules and deadlines as they change. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa, so no one can promise an outcome. You pay in milestones, and every service you pay for is either delivered or its fee is refunded (terms apply).

Programmes at Italian public universities can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts, or see how ApplyAZ works.

Questions and answers

Which Italian bachelor’s classes are listed?

L-7, L-8, L-9, L-30, L-31, L-35 and L-41, with corresponding former classes. Foreign equivalents require committee assessment. [1]

Is 95/110 a minimum for everyone?

No. The SUA uses it for an applicable preparation-test exemption when curricular requirements are met. Foreign qualifications are assessed case by case. [1]

Can I take the assessment before graduating?

The current SUA permits pending-degree candidates with at least 120 CFU at the test date to take the preparation assessment. Final qualification and enrolment conditions still apply. [1]

Is an English-medium degree acceptable evidence?

An official MOI record for a qualification entirely taught in English can be considered under the central rules, subject to committee approval and possible verification. [3]

Do I need Italian B2 before admission?

The English-taught master requires English B2. The SUA provides A1 Italian learning activities for non-native speakers below A1, rather than universal Italian B2 entry. [1]

Does the December enrolment date reopen the visa intake?

No. The 2026 international visa application deadline was 6 May. The ordinary evaluation/registration calendar serves the appropriate eligible route and does not reopen it. [4, 5]

Can someone handle my whole application to Electronics and Communications Engineering at Siena?

Yes. ApplyAZ, an Italy-based consultancy that works only with public universities, checks your transcript against Siena's rules for this programme, handles the application and Universitaly pre-enrolment, helps you file the DSU Toscana scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepares your visa file, for eligible students. Start by checking your eligibility.

I'm applying from India. What is the route into Electronics and Communications Engineering?

A B.Tech or B.E. in electronics, telecommunications, computer or information engineering is the natural fit; the committee checks three years of study and learning objectives matching the listed classes, with no incoming deficit allowed [1]. You need English B2, and an official MOI for a degree taught entirely in English can be considered [3]. The steps are the international application, the online test and remote interview, then Universitaly [1, 5]. Indian students apply for the type D study visa at the Italian embassy or consulate that covers their state, such as New Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru.

Is the route different from Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka?

No. The academic rules for Electronics and Communications Engineering are the same whatever your nationality. Applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka follow the same steps as India: the international application, the committee's evaluation with the online foundation test and remote interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for their country of residence. Read our guide for students in Dhaka.

I live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman or Bahrain. Where do I apply for the visa?

At the Italian embassy or consulate responsible for the country where you legally live, after Universitaly pre-enrolment. The academic rules for Electronics and Communications Engineering are the same whatever your nationality, and Gulf residents follow the same steps: the international application, the committee's evaluation with the online foundation test and remote interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment. Read our guides for Dubai, Riyadh and Doha.

I studied or live in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. What is the route?

The academic rules for Electronics and Communications Engineering are the same whatever your nationality, and your degree is assessed like any other foreign qualification. Non-EU applicants who live abroad follow the same route: the international application, the committee's evaluation with the online foundation test and remote interview, and Universitaly pre-enrolment, then a type D study visa from the Italian mission for where they live. Read our guides for students in London, New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 27, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility