Master in Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy at University of Salerno

Two-year English-taught LM-28 master at the University of Salerno's Avellino campus: renewables, smart grids, energy storage and data science, with a double degree option at Anhalt University in Germany.

Master

2 years

Salerno

English

University of Salerno

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
ADISURC Campania
scholarship for
Università degli Studi di Salerno

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Salerno
Public university · Campania · Founded 1968
View university →
In short

Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy is a two-year, 120-credit master's degree (LM-28) taught in English by the University of Salerno at its Avellino campus. It covers renewables, smart grids, storage and machine learning, with a double degree option in Germany. Tuition follows UNISA contribution bands.

Degree
Master
Degree class
LM-28
Credits
120 ECTS
Duration
2 years
Language of instruction
English
Intake
2027/28, autumn intake (calendar pending)
Entrance test
Preparation assessment, 60/100 pass with 20 qualification + 80 test points, unless all grade, timing, recency and certification exemption conditions hold.
Language requirement
English B2. Ordinary abroad procedure requires Ministry-accredited certification and rejects MOI/Duolingo; academic regulation lists CLA/TOLC-I 28/30 and exceptional assessment routes.

Entry requirements

Detailed entry requirements

Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy requires foundation and engineering credit blocks, English B2 and personal-preparation assessment. The current 2026/27 regulation gives the full exemption conditions and test rules, which short summaries omit. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1, 2]

Recognised degree and curricular suitability

Applicants need a bachelor’s/three-year university diploma or suitable recognised foreign equivalent. Electrical, electronic and related industrial/information-engineering degrees are relevant backgrounds, but the committee must verify the actual subject content and credit distribution. A degree title alone does not satisfy the current regulation. [1, 2]

Two required credit blocks

  • At least 45 CFU in foundation subjects. Foundation subjects comprise physical disciplines in Area 02; mathematical/computing disciplines in Area 01 excluding MATH-01/A and MATH-01/B; CHEM-03/A, CHEM-05/A and CHEM-06/A; and STAT-01/A and STAT-01/B. [1]
  • At least 45 CFU in subjects characterising L-8 or L-9 engineering, including at least 6 CFU in IIET-01/A, IIND-08/A, IIND-08/B or IMIS-01/B. The 6-credit condition is inside the 45-credit engineering block. [1]

Missing credits and conditional preparation-test access

Submit a complete transcript, official grading/credit information and relevant syllabi for the committee’s subject mapping and foreign equivalence assessment. Missing curricular requirements must be completed before the preparation assessment and enrolment, and registration with incoming curricular deficits is not allowed. The 150-credit pending-graduation permission concerns taking the preparation test; it does not waive the final qualifying degree or missing subject requirements. [1]

All conditions for a preparation-test exemption

The exemption requires a weighted examination average of at least 24/30; degree completion by the first year beyond the normal duration; an award no more than two calendar years before enrolment; and correspondence with the programme’s specified certification standard. All conditions must hold together. The university assesses foreign grading equivalence. A 24/30 average alone is insufficient, and this exemption threshold must not be presented as an automatic rejection cutoff for everyone else. The current energy annex does not repeat the separate own-bachelor exemption specified for Digital Medicine. [1]

What the English preparation test covers

  • Mathematics: foundation calculus, linear-algebra and complex-number methods relevant to engineering problem solving. Physics: mechanics and electromagnetism. [1, 2]
  • Electrical circuits: resistive and dynamic networks, phasors, filtering, electrical power and the associated analysis methods. [1, 2]
  • Electrical/electronic measurement principles and the required engineering interpretation of quantities and instruments. [1, 2]
  • Computing: structured programming, data structures, sorting/searching algorithms, processor architecture and operating-system fundamentals. [1, 2]

Optional Anhalt double degree is a separate selection

The Anhalt pathway requires its own application/selection, academic and language evaluation and partner acceptance. It is not an automatic entitlement for everyone admitted to Salerno. The programme explains a separate first-year selection and a 136-credit double-degree pathway, compared with the ordinary 120-credit master. Consult the actual partner-pathway notice for its annual date and conditions; it does not replace Salerno’s initial academic, language or visa requirements. [1, 2]

English B2 and the international certificate rule

The academic regulation recognises at least English B2 through a Ministry-recognised certifier, the university language-centre assessment, or at least 28/30 in the English section of TOLC-I. In exceptional cases the committee can perform the specified language assessment. These are language-evidence routes, not substitutes for subject credits or the admission assessment. [1]

The department’s international checklist is stricter in its ordinary abroad-applicant procedure: it requires a B2 certificate from a listed Ministry-accredited institution and explicitly rejects Medium of Instruction letters and Duolingo. An applicant abroad should supply the stated certificate, rather than assume a generic MOI or an academic-regulation alternative is automatically accepted in that route. Any individual exceptional assessment needs the committee’s express decision. [1, 2]

Assessment score, attempts and validity

For candidates who are not exempt, the assessment totals 100 points: up to 20 for prior academic qualifications and up to 80 for the test. The pass mark is 60/100. The course assesses curricular suitability before personal preparation, and missing academic requirements must be completed first. Applicants should request participation at least 10 days before the scheduled test, supplying the degree/transcript with credits, grades, subject classifications and any other requested qualification records. [1, 2]

The current admission-procedure annex allows candidates still completing the first-cycle degree to take the preparation test after obtaining at least 150 credits. Passing remains valid for 12 months from the month of the test, and candidates may attempt it no more than twice in a calendar year. Pending-degree test access does not remove the requirement to obtain the qualifying award and satisfy all enrolment conditions. [1]

Current test dates and applicant location

The published in-person sessions are 17 July, 25 September and 11 December 2026 and 19 February 2027. As of this review, the December and February sessions remain future dates. The remote sessions, reserved exclusively for residents abroad, were 22 June, 3 July and 11 September 2026; all have passed. Ask through the prescribed participation procedure at least 10 days before a session. An upcoming in-person test is not proof that a new visa intake or remote session is open. [2]

Foreign records and Universitaly-first procedure

Prepare passport, CV, final bachelor’s qualification and a transcript listing each examination, grade and credit/credit-hour amount, together with the accepted English certificate. Provide course descriptions where needed to establish subject equivalence. The international instructions request a Declaration of Value or CIMEA comparability for the foreign bachelor’s. The stated procedure permits transmitting the qualification-value evidence at its later specified stage; start obtaining it in time for the consular and final-registration checks. [1, 2]

The department explicitly requires Universitaly pre-enrolment first and says no pre-check is performed before that step. The programme then examines the file and arranges the required assessment; after a positive university outcome, the applicant proceeds with the visa and final registration. This corrects a “test first, Universitaly later” sequence. Admission, visa issuance and final qualification verification remain separate decisions. The optional UNISA scholarship call is a separate selection and its deadline must not be presented as the programme’s general admission deadline. No 2027/28 admission calendar is established by these sources. [2]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Salerno, Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy Teaching Regulations 2026/27, Article 3 and admission-procedure annex; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Salerno, Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy Enrollment, current 2026/27 assessment dates and international instructions; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

About the programme

Electrical Engineering for Digital Energy is a two-year, 120-credit master's degree (laurea magistrale, class LM-28) taught in English by the Department of Information Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Applied Mathematics (DIEM). It is offered at the University of Salerno's new Avellino campus, not in Fisciano.

The course trains engineers for the energy transition and the digitalisation of electrical systems, joining electrical engineering with information technology, artificial intelligence and data analysis. It suits graduates in electrical, electronic or related industrial and information engineering.

What you will study

Semesters one and two build methodological foundations, semester three integrates them with energy technologies, and semester four is given to laboratories, applied projects and the thesis. Required units in the 2026/27 plan include:

  • Electric Circuits and Electric Machines
  • Electric Power Systems
  • Renewable Sources and Power Converters
  • Communication Networks and Cybersecurity
  • Automation
  • Batteries and Energy Storage
  • Smart Grids and Energy Management
  • Data Science and Machine Learning

Recommended electives include Multiphysics Models for Electrical System Virtualization and Photovoltaic Building Integration and Management. The final examination is worth 17 credits.

How the programme is taught

The course offers a double degree with Anhalt University of Applied Sciences in Germany: 12 months at UNISA and 12 months at Anhalt lead to the Italian laurea magistrale and the German Master in Photovoltaics Engineering Science. The admission test is also held in English.

Career paths

Graduates are prepared to design and manage electrical systems for renewable integration, energy efficiency, smart grids, electric mobility and cybersecurity. Typical employers are utilities, technology firms and research institutions, in roles such as:

  • Energy infrastructure design
  • Grid modernisation and smart grid engineering
  • Renewable energy integration
  • Protection of critical energy infrastructure

Fees and scholarships

Tuition follows UNISA contribution bands. The third band is the starting point for non-EU students living abroad; the first band applies automatically to citizens of low human development countries and, on request with documents, to families in hardship. ISEE parificato holders follow the fee guide, and ADISURC runs the Campania scholarship call.

How to apply from outside the EU

Submit Universitaly pre-enrolment and the complete academic/language file first. The department performs no pre-check before this step, then evaluates curricular requirements and arranges assessment unless a current exemption applies. After the university outcome, complete visa procedures and final degree-recognition/registration checks. The published remote 2026 sessions have passed. [1, 2]

How ApplyAZ helps

If this programme fits your goals, ApplyAZ can include it in a shortlist of 20 to 30 English-taught programmes at Italian public universities. We write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose, submit your applications and Universitaly pre-enrolment, help you file your DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format, and prepare your visa file, with a named person on each stage. The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa. See how ApplyAZ works or check your eligibility.

Questions and answers

How many foundation credits are required?

At least 45 CFU in the regulation’s listed mathematics/computing, physics, chemistry and statistics groups, with its stated mathematical-sector exclusions. [1]

What is the specific electrical-sector condition?

Inside the 45-credit engineering block, at least 6 CFU must be in IIET-01/A, IIND-08/A, IIND-08/B or IMIS-01/B. [1]

Does 24/30 automatically exempt me from the test?

No. Completion timing, qualification recency and certification correspondence must also meet the stated conditions. [1]

What is the assessment pass mark?

60/100 overall: up to 20 qualification points and up to 80 test points. Non-exempt candidates must pass. [1, 2]

Are remote 2026 test sessions still available?

The published remote sessions were 22 June, 3 July and 11 September 2026 and have passed. Future in-person dates do not establish a new visa/remote window. [2]

Is the Anhalt double degree guaranteed?

No. It has a separate selection and partner acceptance, in addition to Salerno’s admission requirements. [1, 2]

Last checked against the university's official pages:
September 27, 2026
Official programme pageAdmissions call

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility