Master in Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development at University of Turin
Joint two-year English-taught master, year one in Turin and year two in Nice. Entry requires a suitable first degree, economics/statistics and quantitative preparation, C1 English and commission selection through the French-administered route.
Master
2 years
Turin
English
University of Turin



Detailed entry requirements
Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development is a French–Italian joint programme with its own academic and administrative selection. Current sources require C1 English and suitable economics/quantitative preparation. The latest located programme brochure is marked updated June 2026. Sources were reviewed on 6 October 2026. [1–6]
Joint degree: first year in Turin, second year in Nice
This is a joint two-year master’s degree supported by the University of Turin and Université Côte d’Azur, with year one in Turin and year two in Nice. The June 2026 brochure describes English classes and the French/Italian-recognised joint diploma. The French university administers the programme’s application/enrolment routes. Applicants need to plan for the academic and administrative requirements of both locations. [1–3]
Qualifying first degree and the 18/6 subject requirements
The current Côte d’Azur programme page and June 2026 brochure accept a bachelor’s in Economics or Business Administration, including recognised validation-of-prior-learning routes, or another L3-level diploma after consultation with the pedagogical commission. A different degree is therefore a case-by-case academic route, rather than automatic eligibility for all science, engineering or social-science graduates. [1, 2]
Turin’s current catalogue additionally requires 18 CFU in economics and 6 in statistics, with a suitable first degree/recognised foreign equivalent. Show the underlying courses, credits/hours and content on the official transcript. These are separate subject blocks, not 24 unrestricted credits from any field. The commission assesses foreign equivalence and suitability for the joint programme. [3]
If the credits are missing while completing a bachelor’s, the catalogue directs students to use appropriate elective courses; graduates may need individual courses to satisfy the curricular requirements before academic clearance. Programme admission still requires positive personal-preparation assessment. An L3-equivalent award alone does not waive the required economics/statistics background. [3]
English C1, certified evidence and language scope
English at CEFR C1 is required by the current September 2026 programme page and June 2026 brochure. The programme FAQ accepts certification by an international test or a university language centre. The selection criteria explicitly assess C1 English through a test or certificate. The reviewed programme sources do not prescribe a universal IELTS, TOEFL or PTE numerical conversion, certificate-age limit, or automatic medium-of-instruction waiver. Submit the evidence accepted in the actual programme file. [1, 2, 4]
The general ELMI international page describes French language rules for its wider degree offer. EISD’s dedicated English-taught programme sources specifically require C1 English; the general French-master rule should not be copied onto EISD as an independently verified C1 French admission requirement. Check any language/administrative requirement actually assigned to the joint-degree route rather than assuming all ELMI courses use the same language. [1, 2, 6]
Academic record, quantitative preparation and professional project
The programme assesses general economics, mathematics, quantitative techniques and English. The FAQ identifies mathematics, statistics, data analysis and econometrics as subjects examined during eligibility and considers both the overall average across the three undergraduate years and the average in quantitative subjects. These are assessment inputs; the reviewed sources do not publish a universal numerical GPA or foreign final-grade rejection cutoff. [1, 4]
Show consistency between your prior studies and the degree, and between the degree and your professional/research project. Expected preparation includes business/management foundations, advanced quantitative ability, innovation economics, interest in sustainable development, analytical/synthesis and critical-thinking skills, strong writing and oral expression, a professional attitude and curiosity in organising evidence. The commission uses the academic file to decide eligibility before the admission interview. [1, 2, 4]
The programme FAQ gives a maximum capacity of 15 students. This is the published overall programme capacity, rather than a separately stated 15-place non-EU-abroad allocation. Eligibility and C1 evidence therefore do not guarantee selection. The reviewed programme requirements do not prescribe two universal recommendation letters, a GRE/GMAT score or a standardised written entrance examination. [1, 4]
File screening, oral interview and Turin TAPP
The pedagogical commission first assesses the application and establishes an eligible shortlist. The oral admission interview then evaluates knowledge, interpersonal/personal qualities, spoken expression, motivation and the clarity/coherence of the professional project. Final admission is decided after the interview, rather than solely on an academic-title check. The standing FAQ mentions June interviews but does not provide a newly confirmed 2027 date. [1, 2, 4]
Turin’s catalogue describes a TAPP personal-preparation interview of 15 minutes through an online communication platform, with academic clearance after a successful outcome. Follow the joint programme’s actual invitation and any Turin clearance requirements; this catalogue description does not by itself publish the French-administered interview’s date or guarantee a fixed duration for every selection stage. [3]
M1 and M2 applications: programme instructions and category routing
The dedicated joint-programme sources direct M1 applications to Mon Master and M2 applications to eCandidat, and describe the joint programme procedure for French and foreign applicants. The Turin catalogue identifies Côte d’Azur as the administrative institution for both preliminary assessment and enrolment. This programme should not be presented as automatically using the ordinary €60 Apply@UniTo master’s call. [1–3]
ELMI’s general M1 instructions route French/EU applicants to Mon Master, and non-EU applicants to Études en France where their country is covered, otherwise Mon Master. Its general M2 instructions use eCandidat for all applicants. Because the EISD-specific sources describe a common Mon Master route while the school’s general international routing distinguishes categories, obtain the joint programme’s applicable category instructions before submitting through a potentially incorrect platform. This route distinction is material to a complete application. [1, 2, 5]
Use the active M1/M2 application listing and programme office instructions for the exact annual dates and uploads. The reviewed programme sources do not give a confirmed 2027/28 deadline. A general French master’s calendar or a Turin open-access enrolment deadline should not be described as a guaranteed EISD-specific future deadline. [1, 3, 5]
Document preparation and final enrolment
Prepare the qualifying degree and complete transcripts, evidence mapping the economics/statistics and quantitative background, C1 certificate/test evidence, and a clear account of the academic/professional project. Follow the live programme checklist for CV, identity and any further attachments; the reviewed course pages do not supply a complete universal upload-by-upload list. No extra reference count or admissions-test score should be invented. [1–4]
ELMI’s general administrative guidance strongly recommends a France Éducation International comparability attestation for the latest diploma and asks for documents translated into French by a sworn translator. This is general processing guidance, while EISD teaching is in English. Follow the programme’s accepted language/document instructions for the actual application and obtain any required sworn translations for final processing; do not assume that English teaching removes documentary translation requirements. [5, 6]
Preliminary eligibility, successful interview, academic clearance and final registration are separate stages. After receiving enrolment authorisation, the Côte d’Azur page directs applicants to online registration and the applicable university fee/CVEC instructions. The mobility year in Turin and year in Nice have corresponding local administrative/residence requirements. A general DSU or scholarship statement should not be treated as guaranteeing joint-programme admission, fee waiver or living-cost coverage. [1–3]
Sources and verification
- Université Côte d’Azur, Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development, official programme page updated 24 September 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- Université Côte d’Azur / EUR ELMI, Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development brochure, marked updated June 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Turin, Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development, current degree catalogue with 2026/27 teaching entries, Admission requirements; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- Université Côte d’Azur / EUR ELMI, FAQ Master: Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development, standing programme guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- Université Côte d’Azur / EUR ELMI, Master application procedures, current central guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- Université Côte d’Azur / EUR ELMI, International student application procedures, standing general guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
Entry requirements: short questions and answers
Which bachelor’s degree is accepted?
Economics or Business Administration, or another L3-level diploma after commission consultation. Turin also requires 18 economics credits and 6 statistics credits. Different backgrounds need a positive academic assessment. [1–3]
Is English B2 sufficient?
No. Current programme sources require C1 English. The FAQ accepts an international test or university-language-centre certification but does not print universal IELTS/TOEFL/PTE numerical cutoffs. [1, 2, 4]
Are grades and quantitative subjects assessed?
Yes. The commission considers the overall undergraduate average and quantitative-subject average, including mathematics, statistics, data analysis and econometrics, alongside programme/project fit. No universal numerical GPA cutoff is printed in the reviewed sources. [1, 4]
How many students can be admitted?
The official programme FAQ gives a maximum capacity of 15 students. This is programme-wide capacity, rather than a separately published non-EU quota. [4]
Do I apply through Apply@UniTo?
The joint programme directs M1 to Mon Master and M2 to eCandidat under Côte d’Azur administration. ELMI’s general guidance also distinguishes Études en France categories, so follow the EISD office’s specific routing for your nationality/residence. [1–3, 5]
Where will I study?
The first year is in Turin and the second in Nice. The programme is a joint degree, with English classes and academic/administrative requirements across both universities. [1, 2]
About the programme
Economics of Innovation for Sustainable Development is a joint two-year master’s degree from the University of Turin and Université Côte d’Azur. Year one is in Turin and year two in Nice, with English classes. The degree studies innovation and the digital/ecological transition through economics, management, law and quantitative methods. Academic admission requires suitable first-cycle study, the published subject background, C1 English and a positive file/interview assessment. [1–4]
How ApplyAZ helps
ApplyAZ can help identify the correct joint-programme application route, map your prior courses, prepare academic and language evidence and plan the two-country enrolment stages. The joint programme decides admission and any financial support. See how ApplyAZ works or check your eligibility.
More English-taught programmes at this university
Other public universities in this city
They began right where you are
