Master in Coastal and Marine Biology and Ecology at University of Salento

English CMBE master: recognised first-cycle award, 60 eligible subject credits and oral preparation/B2 assessment. Autumn ordinary and visa sessions differ.

Master

2 years

Lecce

English

University of Salento

University logo
gross-tution-fee
Can be tuition-free for eligible students
Tuition per year
program-duration
2 years
Programme duration
For eligible students, we prepare the application for the
ADISU Puglia
scholarship for
Università del Salento

This programme can be tuition-free for eligible students. Check if you are eligible and book a one-to-one consultation session with one of our Italy experts.

University campus
Offered by
University of Salento
Public university · Apulia · Founded 1955
View university →

Detailed entry requirements

Coastal and Marine Biology and Ecology is an entirely English-taught LM-6R master. Its current 2026/27 regulation requires a suitable first-cycle award, at least 60 eligible credits with three subject-group limits, and an English-language preparation interview. Several 2026 notices contain conflicting credit, quota or visa wording; those differences are identified below rather than combined into a new rule. [1–6]

Suitable degree and 60-credit total

Hold a three-year bachelor’s degree, three-year university diploma or suitable recognised foreign qualification. Eligibility is evaluated from the actual prior academic record. The current regulation and July ordinary call require at least 60 ECTS/CFU across the prescribed groups before proceeding to preparation assessment. A degree title alone does not establish eligibility. No numerical GPA admission minimum is specified in these sources. [1, 2, 6]

Current standard subject-credit distribution

  • Group 1: 12–40 ECTS/CFU in general/systematic/environmental/applied botany, zoology and ecology. [1, 2]
  • Group 2: 6–20 ECTS/CFU in comparative anatomy/cytology, physiology, biochemistry, genetics and microbiology. [1, 2]
  • Group 3: 12–30 ECTS/CFU in mathematical analysis, probability/mathematical statistics, mathematical physics, general/inorganic chemistry and organic chemistry. [1, 2]
  • The three groups must together supply at least 60 eligible credits. Their separate minima sum to 30, so meeting only those minima is insufficient. The upper limits control the credits contributing to the total. [1]

Published exception in the July international notice

The first February international call also includes marine sciences in Group 1 and uses the standard 12–30 third-group range. The June second-call PDF instead prints Group 3 as 6–20, while retaining a 60-credit total and the other ranges. That is a source discrepancy, not permission to use 6 quantitative/chemistry credits for the current autumn ordinary route. The current regulation, ordinary call and programme catalogue agree on 12–30. A candidate relying on the July notice’s different matrix needs a decision for that exact call. [1–4, 6]

Scientific oral interview and English B2

The oral interview is in English and assesses the scientific preparation represented by the prior subjects counted toward eligibility. English at B2 or higher is evaluated during this interview; the regulation exempts native English speakers from the English check. It does not prescribe a universal IELTS/TOEFL numerical cutoff or replace scientific assessment with an English certificate. Successful curricular review and interview are necessary before registration, including for transfers. [1, 2]

Current ordinary autumn applications and documents

The ordinary application deadlines are 10 September, 14 October and 14 December 2026, each at noon. Interviews are 17 September at 09:30, 21 October at 15:30 and 21 December at 15:30, local Italian time. As of 6 October, the October and December ordinary dates remain ahead. Interviews take place at Ecotekne; eligible non-local/international candidates may arrange Microsoft Teams participation according to the department’s instructions. [2]

Use the university student portal and attach the prescribed degree/examination declaration, complete subjects/credits/disciplinary sectors and valid identity document for a non-Salento academic record. Foreign-award suitability must be assessed rather than self-assumed. The admitted/not-admitted list is published alphabetically on the notice board and department website within ten days; the call says candidates receive no individual result notification. Check those notices and complete enrolment under the student rules. [2]

Earlier international rounds, fee and visa limits

The February international round closed 20 March 2026 at noon CET, with an interview on 1 April. The June second-call round closed 20 July at noon, with its table listing 23 July 2026. A later paragraph wrongly prints the interview year as 2025. The current instructions specify a €23 participation charge for those international rounds. Neither historical round is reopened by the ordinary October date. [3–5]

The June PDF is headed for applicants who do not need a visa, while the central webpage also describes non-EU applicants abroad. The July ordinary call restricts visa applicants to the September session and gives 30 November 2026 as the visa-application limit after university validation. Its copied reference to December/April also differs from its actual October/December schedule. Visa applicants must obtain the office’s confirmed category/session instruction rather than treat every autumn session as available. [2, 4, 5]

English delivery, Italian wording and reserved-place conflict

The regulation and current catalogue explicitly confirm wholly English teaching and MBE/EBES curricula. Nevertheless, the ordinary call includes an Italian-test prerequisite in its visa section. The central Italian-test notice addresses Italian-taught courses and separately requires a master’s programme interview. The contradictory Italian clause needs an official course/admissions decision for the applicant; this page does not silently remove it or declare Italian B2 universally necessary for this English programme. [1, 2, 6, 7]

The regulation states 30 non-EU reserved places, including 5 Chinese places; the annual call states 40 foreign reserved places. These are conflicting published figures, not an overall 40-student programme cap. The annual call controls its procedure, but an applicant needing a reserved visa place should confirm which current quota applies. The programme is otherwise described as open access with preparation assessment. [1, 2, 6]

Sources and verification

  1. University of Salento, CMBE Teaching Regulations 2026/27, approved 23 April 2026, Articles 8 and 17; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  2. University of Salento DiSTeBA, CMBE ordinary admission call 2026/27, decree 349, approved 22 July 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  3. University of Salento, first CMBE international admission call 2026/27, decree 83, 18 February 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  4. University of Salento, second CMBE admission call 2026/27, signed 25 June 2026; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  5. University of Salento, New admission notices for international students, current 2026/27 webpage; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  6. University of Salento, CMBE official programme catalogue, cohort 2026/27; reviewed 6 October 2026.
  7. University of Salento, Italian language test notice 2026/27; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.

Entry requirements: short questions and answers

How many prior credits are required?

At least 60 eligible credits, with the current standard groups limited to 12–40, 6–20 and 12–30 credits respectively. Meeting only the group minima is insufficient. [1, 2]

Can I use the July call’s 6-credit third-group minimum?

That notice differs from the regulation and autumn call. Do not apply its 6–20 range to the standard autumn route without a decision for your exact call. [1, 2, 4]

Is IELTS compulsory?

The regulation checks English B2 during the preparation interview and exempts native English speakers from that language check. It sets no universal IELTS score. [1]

Is the whole master taught in English?

Yes. The current regulation and 2026/27 catalogue explicitly confirm English delivery for both curricula. The ordinary call’s visa-section Italian clause remains a documented inconsistency. [1, 2, 6]

When is the next ordinary application deadline?

14 October 2026 at noon, for the 21 October interview. Visa applicants cannot assume this ordinary session is available to them. [2]

Are there 30 or 40 reserved places?

The regulation prints 30 non-EU places; the annual call prints 40 foreign places. Confirm the applicable reserved quota with admissions rather than treating either as an overall cap. [1, 2]

About the programme

CMBE is a two-year, 120-credit English-taught master with Marine Biology and Ecology and E-Biodiversity and Ecosystem Sciences curricula. The current eligibility and category-specific application conditions are detailed above. [1, 6]

More English-taught programmes at this university

Other public universities in this city

They began right where you are

Now they study at Italian public universities, many with income-based tuition and DSU scholarships.
Group of happy college students
Check your eligibility