Master in Autonomous Vehicle Engineering at University of Naples Federico II
Two-year master (LM-33, 120 ECTS) taught in English by Federico II's Department of Industrial Engineering in Naples, with curricula in self-driving cars, unmanned aerial systems and unmanned marine vehicles, and a compulsory internship.
Master
2 years
Naples
English
University of Naples Federico II



Autonomous Vehicle Engineering (MS MOVE) is a two-year, 120 ECTS master's degree (class LM-33) taught in English at the University of Naples Federico II's San Giovanni campus. It offers curricula in self-driving cars, aerial and marine vehicles. Tuition is income-based, set from family ISEE.
Entry requirements
Detailed entry requirements
MOVE admission depends on degree recognition, specific curricular credits, English B2 and a positive personal-preparation assessment or applicable exemption. The most recent located detailed regulations are in force from 2025/26; current 2026/27 class-access and international procedures were checked separately. [1–6]
Qualifying degree: industrial/information engineering or committee recognition
The programme requires a suitable first-cycle degree. Article 4 distinguishes Italian L-9 Industrial Engineering and L-8 Information Engineering from other science/technology qualifications. The latter route includes Italian L-7, L-30, L-31 and L-35 degrees and foreign science/technology awards such as BSc, BEng or BTech, subject to recognition as suitable by the Teaching Coordination Committee. The brochure describes a three-year bachelor’s; the exact transcript and regulatory route determine eligibility. [1, 2]
Mechanical-engineering credits required in both routes
The L-8/L-9 route requires at least 12 CFU in the listed mechanical/industrial disciplines: fluid machines (ING-IND/08), energy/environment systems (/09), industrial technical physics (/10), mechanical/thermal measurements (/12), applied mechanics (/13), mechanical design/construction (/14), industrial design/methods (/15), manufacturing technology (/16) or industrial mechanical systems (/17). These are eligible subject sectors rather than a requirement to have 12 credits in each subject. [1]
The other-science/technology and foreign-degree route requires the same 12-credit mechanical block plus at least 36 CFU across computer science (INF/01), information-processing systems (ING-INF/05), geometry (MAT/03), mathematical analysis (MAT/05) and experimental physics (FIS/01). Supply course descriptions, credits/hours and examination records for academic mapping. A foreign engineering title does not automatically bypass the committee’s suitability and curricular checks. [1]
Personal preparation and the meaning of 24/30
Personal preparation must be verified after curricular eligibility. For the article 4 first route, a credit-weighted examination average of at least 24/30, including assigned curricular additions, grants the published exemption from a further preparation check. This is a route-specific assessment exemption, not a universal minimum grade rejecting every foreign applicant below a self-converted 24/30. [1]
Other applications are decided by the committee, which can examine the curriculum and relevant examination grades or arrange an interview/test. For the second route, possible committee-assigned remedies include passing individual courses before enrolment, a shortened qualifying bachelor’s pathway, or an approved master’s study plan with alignment courses within its credit total. The applicant cannot choose a remedial route or assume admission without the committee’s decision. [1]
English B2 and evidence
English must be at least comparable to CEFR B2, evidenced by certification issued by the university or an accredited body. The programme is taught in English. The reviewed regulations/brochure do not publish universal IELTS/TOEFL/PTE numerical cutoffs or a general automatic medium-of-instruction waiver. Follow the accepted certification instructions for the actual admission and visa file. [1, 2]
Documents and committee evaluation
The official international guidance identifies personal documents/passport, academic transcript, CV, recommendation letters and other evidence relevant to evaluating suitability. It does not specify a universal recommendation-letter count or a GRE/GMAT requirement. Provide the degree and syllabi needed to demonstrate both curricular blocks, English evidence and any recognition documentation requested by the university. The guidance links an older 2020 circular, so its advice to start in June should not replace the central 2026/27 deadline. [1, 3, 6]
Foreign qualifications and the recognition file
The university assesses whether a foreign qualification corresponds to the required Italian award. Send academic documents to the degree coordinator for the programme-specific assessment. Depending on the qualification, the university can request translations, legalisation, a Diploma Supplement, examination certificates, ENIC-NARIC/CIMEA statements or a Declaration of Value. Provide complete transcripts and course content so that the committee can assess this programme’s subject requirements, rather than relying only on the diploma title. [6]
2026/27 visa pre-enrolment and final registration
For visa-requiring non-EU applicants abroad, the central page publishes 15 June 2026 as the Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline, after which programme changes are not permitted; it identifies a restricted-access exception requiring the applicable course procedure. The stated visa-application deadline is 30 November 2026. These are 2026/27 dates, not newly confirmed 2027/28 deadlines. Pre-enrolment does not itself grant admission, and the visa stage remains separate from academic selection and university registration. [6]
Eligible EU applicants and non-EU applicants who do not require a new study visa follow their applicable direct qualification-assessment route. For final registration the secretariat provides forms and payment instructions and asks for identity/passport, an application form, a photograph, Italian tax code, residence-permit evidence where applicable and the required foreign-qualification recognition records. Check the degree’s additional instructions and keep original records available. [6]
Final enrolment and temporary online classes
The programme directs admitted international candidates to complete its International Student Form, collect the documents specified in that form, pay using the official fee instructions, print the received MOVE pre-acceptance letter and deliver the file in person to the Engineering Student Secretariat, Piazzale Tecchio 80, Naples. Academic approval and a visa process alone do not complete this registration. [4]
A separate 2026/27 first-semester form lets candidates still completing visa/final-enrolment procedures request access to Microsoft Teams lectures. Requests are processed on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. This is temporary class access, not a replacement degree-admission application. Access to academic software is available after final in-person enrolment. [5]
Sources and verification
- University of Naples Federico II, Autonomous Vehicle Engineering, Didactic Regulations, in force from academic year 2025/26, articles 4–5; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- Department of Industrial Engineering, MOVE programme brochure, academic year 2025/26; separate publication date not printed; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- MOVE official programme, Orient yourself, standing international application guidance; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- MOVE official programme, Final Enrolment Procedure; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- MOVE official programme, Application for online classes 2026/27, first semester; publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
- University of Naples Federico II, Admission regulation, current 2026/27 deadlines and standing international guidance; page publication date not stated; reviewed 6 October 2026.
About the programme
Autonomous Vehicle Engineering, known as MS MOVE, is a two-year master's degree (laurea magistrale, class LM-33) worth 120 ECTS. Teaching is in English.
It is run by the Department of Industrial Engineering within the Polytechnic and Basic Sciences School of the University of Naples Federico II, at the San Giovanni campus in eastern Naples, next to the San Giovanni-Barra station on metro Line 2.
The course brings together mechanics, control, sensing, data and vehicle design to prepare engineers for self-driving road, air and marine vehicles. It suits engineering graduates who want to work across disciplines on how autonomous systems are modelled, built and tested.
What you will study
The first year is common to everyone and covers modelling, control, machine learning, sensing, vision and a large design laboratory.
In the second year you choose one of three curricula: Self-Driving Cars, Unmanned Aerial Systems or Unmanned Marine Vehicles, plus electives such as design of mechatronic systems, sensors and microsystems or space flight dynamics.
- Machine Learning and Big Data (9 ECTS)
- Sensor Data Fusion and Measurement Uncertainty Management (12 ECTS)
- Control Oriented Models for Vehicles Dynamics and Control Architectures for Autonomous Driving (6 ECTS each)
- Image and Video Processing for Autonomous Driving and Guidance and Navigation (6 ECTS each)
- Laboratory of Autonomous Vehicle Design and Development (12 ECTS)
- Self-Driving Cars curriculum: power and propulsion systems, smart roads and cooperative driving, testing and validation of automated road vehicles
- Unmanned Aerial Systems and Unmanned Marine Vehicles curricula: design of autonomous aircraft or marine vehicles and their onboard systems
How the programme is taught
A 12 ECTS curricular internship is compulsory for all students, either in university departments or with companies and public or private bodies in Italy or abroad.
The master's thesis is original theoretical, numerical or experimental work, which can build on the internship and be carried out in university labs, research centres or companies. Erasmus+ offers study periods and internships at partner universities in Europe.
Career paths
The university points graduates to large, medium and small companies working on autonomous vehicles, to research laboratories and to university spin-offs. It stresses that the ability to integrate different disciplines with an intercultural approach is increasingly valued in Industry 4.0 settings.
- design and development of autonomous road vehicles
- unmanned aerial and marine systems
- research and development in labs and spin-offs
Fees and scholarships
Tuition at Federico II follows family income, with the yearly amount set from your ISEE under the fee rules in the university's student guides.
The regional DSU body is ADISURC; its 2026/27 call used an ISEE limit of €25,500, gave off-site students up to €7,171.11 and closed on 10 September 2026. Families abroad use the ISEE universitario parificato.
Eligible students can apply, and the region decides awards.
How to apply from outside the EU
Meet the applicable first-degree, 12-credit mechanical block and, for the foreign/other-science route, 36-credit foundational block. Provide B2 certification and complete the committee assessment. The detailed section explains the 24/30 exemption, 2026/27 dates and final enrolment. [1–6]
How ApplyAZ helps
If this programme fits your goals, we can add it to your shortlist. You compare 20 to 30 English-taught programmes at Italian public universities.
A named person owns each stage. We:
- Write your CV and a tailored statement of purpose.
- Submit your applications and Universitaly pre-enrolment.
- Help you file your DSU scholarship application at the right time and in the right format.
- Prepare your visa file.
The university decides admission, the region decides the scholarship and the consulate decides the visa.
Questions and answers
Which first degree is eligible?
Italian L-8/L-9 engineering degrees, or a suitable other science/technology or foreign degree assessed by the committee. The applicable mechanical and foundational subject credits must also be demonstrated. [1, 2]
How many mechanical credits are needed?
At least 12 CFU across the listed ING-IND mechanical/industrial sectors. The foreign/other-science route also requires 36 CFU across specified computing, geometry, analysis and physics subjects. [1]
Is 24/30 a universal minimum grade?
No. It is the published exemption from a further personal-preparation check for the specified L-8/L-9 route. Other applications can be assessed individually by the committee. [1]
What English level is required?
At least B2, with certification issued by the university or an accredited body. The reviewed regulations do not print a universal IELTS or TOEFL score. [1, 2]
Can the committee require extra study?
Yes. It can prescribe pre-enrolment individual courses, a shortened qualifying bachelor’s route or an approved alignment plan, depending on the applicant’s background. These options require the committee’s decision. [1]
Does attending online lectures complete enrolment?
No. The 2026/27 first-semester form provides temporary Teams access for candidates awaiting visa/final-enrolment completion. Final enrolment requires the programme’s document/payment procedure and in-person delivery. [4, 5]
More English-taught programmes at this university
Other public universities in this city
They began right where you are
